The partial reliance of the new 2-step verification process on "trusted devices" raises the issue of removing a device if you've sold it, for example. A FAQ ostensibly addresses this issue:
"What if I lose or give away one of my trusted devices?
If you no longer have access to one of your devices, go to My Apple ID to remove that device from your list of trusted devices as soon as possible so that it can no longer be used to help verify your identity."
But there appears to be no way to remove a device from the list of trusted devices UNTIL that device has been verified, and if you no longer own it (and it has been wiped), you can never verify it.
Any suggestions? --Thanks.