Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > News > Tech News > Flickr gives free Pro trial to users after Instagram outcry

Flickr gives free Pro trial to users after Instagram outcry
Thread Tools
MacNN Staff
Join Date: Jul 2012
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 22, 2012, 04:28 AM
 
Photo-sharing site Flickr is offering its free users an upgraded trial membership at no charge for a limited time. Messages sent to users under the subject line "Merry Flickr" state that users will gain three months of access to Flickr Pro automatically, and comes shortly after Instagram caused a public outcry by altering its terms of service to reveal that the company could use members' content in advertising.

Flickr users who accept the Pro offer will be able to view their entire photo library instead of the last 200 images; can upload unlimited numbers of photos; can download originally-uploaded high-resolution photos, and also upload and play unlimited HD videos to the service. The upgrade requires users to click a banner on the website or within the mobile app, and does not require any form of payment or an automatic renewal before the trial run ends on March 22. Accounts will automatically revert back to their original status, though users can opt to pay $7 per quarter or a flat $25 per year to continue their Pro membership if they wish. The timing of the offer appears to capitalize on the recent user uprising on Instagram, caused by a change to its terms of service. Originally, Instagram changed the user agreement to make clearer that it could potentially sell users' images stored on the site with no compensation offered to the user, a language change more than a policy change -- but one that has since been reverted back to the previous phrasing. What many Instagram users may not understand, however, is that the ability of Instagram to use photos without compensation in advertising is still there, as it has always been. The company, which is searching for a sustainable business model, has clarified that although the agreement allows them to "sub-license" photos without payment or notification, it does not plan to do so, and will more thoroughly change the language in that section to reflect this at some future date. Other services, such as Facebook, also have given themselves the right to use uploaded content as they wish without payment, such as in ads to promote the service. Flickr, by contrast, has taken a different approach: the company facilitates an optional "Creative Commons" license for user photos to aid in non-commercial sharing without copyright issues, and also features a program run in conjunction with Getty Images, allowing users to make photos available for consideration to purchase. If selected, the users receive payment for images sold through the stock photography company.
     
Senior User
Join Date: Nov 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 22, 2012, 08:22 PM
 
3 months of unlimited whatever and then charge us later is NOT a smart way to say "Thank You". It's called "Deceiving". What's is wrong with Yahoo?
     
Electronista Staff
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Wales, UK
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Dec 23, 2012, 04:03 AM
 
Originally Posted by coffeetime View Post
3 months of unlimited whatever and then charge us later is NOT a smart way to say "Thank You". It's called "Deceiving". What's is wrong with Yahoo?
From the article:
Originally Posted by NewsPoster View Post
The upgrade requires users to click a banner on the website or within the mobile app, and does not require any form of payment or an automatic renewal before the trial run ends on March 22. Accounts will automatically revert back to their original status, though users can opt to pay $7 per quarter or a flat $25 per year to continue their Pro membership if they wish.
There is no deception there as far as I can see. Once the 3 months is over, they revert the account back to the free version. Indeed, their help forum says that "Accepting the Holiday Gift will not sign you up for auto-renewal."
     
cgc
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Down by the river
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 23, 2012, 12:14 PM
 
Originally Posted by coffeetime View Post
3 months of unlimited whatever and then charge us later is NOT a smart way to say "Thank You". It's called "Deceiving". What's is wrong with Yahoo?
Just like the one-month NetFlix trial, cancel it near the end and walk away. What's so difficult about that?
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2015 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2