 |
 |
Would buy a digital camera from these folks?
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Binghamton, New York, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
I'm in the market for a new digital camera and have been seriously considering the Sony F717. I found this place via pricegrabber.com. They have good ratings, but still the prices seem to go to be true. What do you think? 
|
|
2.3Ghz 17" SandyBridge MBP 8GB RAM 7.2k 750GB HD anti-glare display|Dell 2408WFP|64GB iPad2 ATT 3G
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2000
Status:
Offline
|
|
I don't know anything about that particular vendor but I would be careful. Most such discount sites are operated by little camera/electronics stores in NYC that will say or do anything to make a sale, including selling you a gray market item (goods intended to be sold in markets outside the U.S. and not covered by the manufacturer's warranty). They'll often tell you that an item is in stock even if it isn't (this happened to me once). They'll also try to sell you extras over the phone and you'll find out that if you don't buy the extras, the item suddenly isn't available.
One thing I noticed is that this site is honest enough to say that certain items are sold out. That's a good sign, but I would still be careful. Use a credit card - that way if there's any problem, you can protest the charge.
I can't say whether this vendor is reputable or not, but I prefer to look for discounts from well-known vendors like Amazon, buy.com, macmall, etc.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Status:
Offline
|
|
www.dbuys.com
They've got the camera for $4 more than the other place, and I used them to buy my Nikon Coolpix 4300...good place
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Zigzag's right about those small vendors in NY. I called one two years ago to buy a Canon S100. Their price was great. Then they wanted to sell me extra compact flash cards and extra batteries. I declined. When they quoted the final price, I discovered their "shipping cost" for the 2 pound camera was $60 for UPS!
Be careful!
Chris
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Binghamton, New York, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally posted by yzeater:
www.dbuys.com
They've got the camera for $4 more than the other place, and I used them to buy my Nikon Coolpix 4300...good place
Care to share more details on your experience buying from them?
|
|
2.3Ghz 17" SandyBridge MBP 8GB RAM 7.2k 750GB HD anti-glare display|Dell 2408WFP|64GB iPad2 ATT 3G
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2000
Status:
Offline
|
|
chabig's right - I forgot to mention that they often use ridiculous shipping charges to make up for the discounts. Don't close the deal until you know what the charges are.
In addition to the sites I mentioned, I would check dealmac.com every day for specials. There are usually deals and/or coupons for a variety of vendors, including dell and staples. You could easily find yourself getting the camera from a major vendor for the same or less money. Good luck either way.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New York
Status:
Offline
|
|
I just got a olympus stylus 300 which I am gonna try to return but if i can't anyone want it make me an offer... im in nyc and will take a loss...
I decided I want to get the new Sony DSC-V1... it's got the same inards as the Sony 717 but it has a 4x lens and is MUCH smaller...(but bigger then the stylus) it is suppose to be out in May...
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
|