Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Consumer Hardware & Components > experiences with deciding on, choosing & setting up a 5-bay SATA enclosure

experiences with deciding on, choosing & setting up a 5-bay SATA enclosure
Grizzled Veteran
Nov 29, 2006, 10:20 AM

Hi All,

Over the past couple of months (and a bit more) I've been in here doing research on external storage solutions. OreoCookie asked me to write up my experiences, hopefully this (long) will answer some questions people may have, and help them to avoid some of the snags I encountered.

Background: I'm a professional photographer (among other things) whose data storage situation was becoming desperate. Prior to getting my eSATA enclosure, I had about 2TB of drives full of projects and I was running out of room (a typical project for me takes up about 50GB these days, and it's only going to get worse as I move up the megapixel upgrade path).

At the time, I had two drives in my G5 desktop machine, and already three external (two 500GB LaCie FW800 enclosures and one 500GB LaCie NAS). I have a colleague with 9 external enclosures, and the cable snarl is legendary (and he's going to need more). I didn't want to go down that path, so I started looking for alternate solutions (btw: my archival strategy involved burning to DVD, which is no longer practical due to the amount of time it'd take to burn all the data waiting for archiving!).