Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Marketplace > Site Selling Cheap Mac Hardware: Legit ???

Site Selling Cheap Mac Hardware: Legit ???
Thread Tools
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 8, 2002, 11:46 PM
 
Does anyone know anything about the following company?:

Tampa Exchange USA,Inc.
http://www.exchange-usa.com

They're selling powerbooks ($1495), iMacs ($630), and iPods ($148) pretty cheap. They claim to buy merchandise from bankrupt companies or from surplus stock and "pass the savings on to YOU!" They apparently cater to resellers or retailers who tend to buy in larger quantities.

They don't accept credit cards or pay.pal - cash, money order, or cashier's check only - nor do they accept returns. However, they do claim to accept in-person pick up of merchandise (cash only) and to ship in-stock items within 24 hours of receiving cleared funds.

Would their Apple products be under warranty as this company is not an authorized reseller? Anyone have an firsthand experience or opinions on whether this company is trustworthy or another possible JC Morris-type fiasco?
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: BROOKLYN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 9, 2002, 12:28 AM
 
Sounds fishy. Also sounds like they are covering their butts by accepting cash and cash-like payments only. Which means they may be counting on people complaining, and if you do have a complaint, there is pretty much no way you could get your money back...

I'd stay away from this, and anything that seems too good to be true...

-g
     
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: College Park, MD
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 9, 2002, 12:33 AM
 
I wouldn't touch that with a 50 foot pole.
My website
Help me pay for college. Click for more info.
     
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 9, 2002, 01:25 AM
 
Here's another recent discussion about these guys from Ars. Linky...

General opinion is that this is a scam. Tread lightly...
Yeah, about those TPS reports, didn't you get the memo?
--------------
2.3 Ghz Dual-Core G5/20" LCD/Life is Good!
Moo...
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montana
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 9, 2002, 02:44 PM
 
Someone I know showed me this site a couple days ago so I checked it out. First of all, they don't have a phone number listed anywhere on the site. Okay, no big deal, just do a whois on the domain and there's your phone number. Wrong. Here is the registrant info for exchange-usa.com, the contacts are all the same as the registrant:

Registrant:
RJ LLC (EXCHANGE-USA-COM-DOM)
PO BOX 1269
Orem, UT 84059
USA
801-785-
richard91302@lycos.com

So they have a PO box, no phone number, and a forgetful email address. And they aren't anywhere near their "warehouse" in Florida. This, coupled with rediculously low prices, makes for a very suspicious business. I would stay as far away from them as you can.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: NYC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 9, 2002, 06:53 PM
 
Oh, it can't be THAT bad. Those are some pretty great deals. It's nice of them to pass the savings on to us instead of just keeping all that cool Mac hardware on their hands!

Note: go to www.dictionary.com and check for "sarcasm
     
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: In a world of Infinite Keys
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 10, 2002, 01:29 PM
 
I actually e-mailed them a couple weeks ago.

All orders are non-refundable. You receive a one-year warranty from
Apple in case you have any problems with items.


----------------------------------
- Richard Manning, -
- Customer Service Assistant -
- Tampa Exchange USA, Inc -
- http://www.exchange-usa.com -
----------------------------------

My Original email
http://exchange-usa.com/~exchange/cg...cgi/00035.html

How can you offer this for $2,095.00 ??

Apple Store :

Dual GHz G4 Tower : $2,999
22" Cinema Display: $2,499

Apple Total: $5,498
Your total: $2,095

How is this possible?

Do you have any guarantee's on correct products being sent? Returns?
Stay far, far away.... VERY FAR AWAY.

You remind me my wife… why you laugh? She dead. | sasper at gmail dot com
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2