Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Marketplace > Fs: Powerbooks & Powermacs At Great Prices!!!

Fs: Powerbooks & Powermacs At Great Prices!!!
Thread Tools
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2003, 09:04 PM
 
Hi folks,

I'm here to offer brand new mac systems at big discounts. No scam or gimmicks, because here's how it works: I buy the computers from a college campus computer store that has occasional special deals and packages, and I have them ship it directly to you. Plain and simple.

I utilize escrow so that your purchase is 100% safe. If you're not familiar with escrow, they serve as a middle-man to make sure that both buyer and seller are protected. The buyer first pays the escrow company, and they hold the money while I purchase the computer and have it shipped directly to you. After you've recieved it and verified everything, only then will they send me a check. I use www.escrow.com, a fully licensed and accredited escrow company reccomended by eBay, you can check them out for yourself.

I have sold to people on mac forums before, and I can provide solid references. If you have any questions or comments, I would prefer that you e-mail me directly rather than reply here. Here are the most current prices for what I am offering:


1) Apple Powermac Dual 1.42ghz
+ 3 Year AppleCare Warranty
+ 17" Apple LCD Display
-----------------------------
* Apple Store Price: $3,957 (with sales tax [depending on location])
* My Price: $3,299 ($658 savings!)
($2,799 without 17" LCD)

==================================================

2) Apple 12" Powerbook G4 867mhz (Combo Drive)
+ Airport Extreme Card
+ 3 Year AppleCare Warranty
----------------------------------------
* Apple Store Price: $2,221 "
* My Price: $1899 ($322 savings)

==================================================

3) Apple 15" Powerbook G4 - 867mhz (Combo Drive)
+ Airport Extreme Card
+ 3 Year AppleCare Warranty
-----------------------------------------
* Apple Store Price: $2,633.30 "
* My Price: $2,199 ($434.30 savings)

==================================================

4) Apple 15" Powerbook G4 - 1ghz (SuperDrive)
+ 3 Year AppleCare Warranty
--------------------------------------
* Apple Store Price: $3,198.58 "
* My Price: $2,599 ($599.58 savings!)

==================================================

5) 17" Powerbook - 1ghz (SuperDrive)
+ 3 Year AppleCare Warranty
-----------------------------------
* Apple Store Price: $3958.08 "
* My Price: $3,399 ($559.08 savings!)

==================================================

I can also offer software with these systems, such as Microsoft Office v.X, Virtual PC 6 (with Windows 2000 or XP Pro), Adobe Photoshop 7, Adobe Illustrator, Roxio Toast 5.2.1. E-mail me for inquiries. Have a nice day!

- Steve

autumnserendipity@yahoo.com
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 12:05 PM
 
"I have sold to people on mac forums before, and I can provide solid references "

Perhaps, though the same story line has also been exposed on a mac forum or two that I belong to as well.
Be weary of this post. I can remember one instance where a simular ( same?) seller was asked to provide a referrence on another forum ( he claimed to have recently sold to a long time forum user of the particular forum ) and when his "reference" posted a recommendation he seemed to of only had 2 total posts ( a little weak in the posting #'s for a long time froum member huh?)

This seller may in fact be genuine, isnt for me to say, but it is for me to say that I have seen this story/college mac's before on other mac forums and that particular seller's credentials didn't pan out. This seller may be different. Not saying he is or isnt, just sharing my past experience with such a story.

-a word to the wise
is sufficient.


btw are the orig. CD's offered with the software or just stuff you picked up off of Limewire? red flag #_ ?

nevermind, I thought I would give the poster the benifit of the doubt, but turns out to actually be the same guy I was thinking he was. DEAL AT YOUR OWN RISK!! and someone toss this guy out while they are at it!! (admin anyone?)

If you think I am just slamming this guy for no reason.... here is a place for you to begin your own "reference" check on this poster...
http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/topic/23330-1.html

heads up, hoes down, Mac users aint got no time to be jerked around, go scam a PC user - they used to it on a day to day basis.
(Last edited by LUCK; Jun 10, 2003 at 12:17 PM. )
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 12:58 PM
 
Originally posted by LUCK:
"I have sold to people on mac forums before, and I can provide solid references "

Perhaps, though the same story line has also been exposed on a mac forum or two that I belong to as well.
Be weary of this post. I can remember one instance where a simular ( same?) seller was asked to provide a referrence on another forum ( he claimed to have recently sold to a long time forum user of the particular forum ) and when his "reference" posted a recommendation he seemed to of only had 2 total posts ( a little weak in the posting #'s for a long time froum member huh?)

This seller may in fact be genuine, isnt for me to say, but it is for me to say that I have seen this story/college mac's before on other mac forums and that particular seller's credentials didn't pan out. This seller may be different. Not saying he is or isnt, just sharing my past experience with such a story.

-a word to the wise
is sufficient.


btw are the orig. CD's offered with the software or just stuff you picked up off of Limewire? red flag #_ ?

nevermind, I thought I would give the poster the benifit of the doubt, but turns out to actually be the same guy I was thinking he was. DEAL AT YOUR OWN RISK!! and someone toss this guy out while they are at it!! (admin anyone?)

If you think I am just slamming this guy for no reason.... here is a place for you to begin your own "reference" check on this poster...
http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/topic/23330-1.html

heads up, hoes down, Mac users aint got no time to be jerked around, go scam a PC user - they used to it on a day to day basis.
thanks for the heads up. you are certainly benefitting the mac community by providing this information
please cook my steak again
je suis american
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2