Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Marketplace > Beware of eBay Fraud!!

Beware of eBay Fraud!!
Thread Tools
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 10:25 AM
 
There has been a recent rash of fraudulent eBay sales for powerbooks and cinema displays. Someone has figured out how to hack into a reputable eBay user's account and list an item under their name. They set up a three-day buy-it-now auction with very low prices and require a pre-approval for buyers. Then, they require you to wire money in advance. They typically explain that they are in Europe in somewhere out of U.S. and need to raise some quick cash.

Looks like eBay is catching on, as they have been closing down several auctins- just beware, though!
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PA/NJ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 10:32 AM
 
Thanks for the heads up!
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Aurora, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 10:42 AM
 
Indeed, I got taken for this scam. EBay is now finally starting to take notice and crack down on this.

The person didn't cover their tracks very well, though. I have collected quite a bit of information on him, and filing the police report today.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: columbus, oh
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 10:49 AM
 
No kidding! I almost fell for the pre-approval auction cause of the awesome price, but luckily I came here and ended up trading systems.
"Another classic science-fiction show cancelled before its time" ~ Bender

15.2" PowerBook 1.25GHz, 80GB HD, 768MB RAM, SuperDrive
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 02:02 PM
 
stonetable, i am currently in the middle of communicating with one of these bozo's and i want to bust him. please let me help you. let's try to figure out if it is the same guy! email me to discuss: surferboy1973@hotmail.com
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 02:07 PM
 
LOL I messaged the guy asking him if he wants to use the escrow service and then he sent me this long story how to make a western union money order to his name and my wife's address so he can't pickup the money unless i call western union???
I hope no one was stupid to send the money to him.
The address was in Spain so I am wondering if we are talking about the same person
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 02:13 PM
 
my guy wants western union and he is living in spain. everyone who has seen a similar scam, email me! i have this guy thinking that i am about to send him money via western union, but i am stalling a little until i have a game plan. i think i (or we, if anyone else wants in) come up with money and wire it, but somehow notify FBI or local police to intercept! i am positive we are talking about the same guy: someone else posted this on ebay- his guy was in europe, too. but, ebay took it off their site shortly after it was posted.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 02:14 PM
 
Correction, my guy is in germany. his made up a clever name for himself. email me for details. we can catch this guy!
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PA/NJ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 04:50 PM
 
Interesting...

A year ago, someone somehow charged a few hundred bucks on stuff from Amazon Spain and a beer company in Spain. Don't ask me how it happened (intercepted my credit card number online?), but I had those charges removed.

It was actually MBNA's security/fraud division that first notified me of these odd, uncharacteristic charges. I had to have my card shredded. Maybe you could contact the local police first to see what they suggest? They'd have a lot of contacts, including the FBI.

Perhaps Spain (or Europe) is a connection here?
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Aurora, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2003, 05:02 PM
 
The guy I'm dealing with gave me a Brooklyn, NY address, but I believe to be in the Alabama area somewhere. If you've exchanged any emails with the guy, check out the email headers, and look for Received:. That should tell you the IP address or host that it was sent from. I've been able to use this to identify an ADSL line he's using, as well as what may be his employer.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2