Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Marketplace > [help] questionable ebay item powerbook

[help] questionable ebay item powerbook
Thread Tools
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2004, 09:59 PM
 
i found this powerbook 867 ( http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...%3AIT&rd=1 )

and it seems like a good deal, but when i did some research, it seems that powerbook only came with a firewire 400 and 2 USB 1.1. and this guy says it comes with 2 USB 2.0 and a firewire 800..

did apple produce an updated model?

thanks
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago,IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2004, 10:08 PM
 
No that is a Rev A with USB 1.1,32MB VRAM and Mini-VGA out.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2004, 11:02 PM
 
so then it is a "false auction" ?
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago,IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2004, 11:05 PM
 
Look's like it or he doesnt know what hes talking about.
     
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2004, 11:22 PM
 
I think you're over reacting. Did you look at his feedback? It is excellent, and he has sold many notebooks before.

Screwing up the FireWire specs is an easy mistake.
(Last edited by Lateralus; Jun 22, 2004 at 11:35 AM. )
I like chicken
I like liver
Meow Mix, Meow Mix
Please de-liv-er
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2004, 11:37 PM
 
Originally posted by shockme17:
i found this powerbook 867 ( http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...%3AIT&rd=1 )

and it seems like a good deal, but when i did some research, it seems that powerbook only came with a firewire 400 and 2 USB 1.1. and this guy says it comes with 2 USB 2.0 and a firewire 800..

did apple produce an updated model?

thanks
it looks legit to me. the guy has sold powerbooks before, and i could see how the firewire thing could be a little mucked up. i'd say email him to confirm or disconfirm the specs, but everything looks okay with the auction.
please cook my steak again
je suis american
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago,IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2004, 11:44 PM
 
I wasnt hinting the seller was a scammer he just put the wrong specs(64MB video card,USB 1.1,FW800)
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 22, 2004, 11:30 AM
 
eh, i knew the powerbook was too good to be true.. he never got back to about it either.. im glad i didnt put a bid in, but thanks for the input.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2