Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Marketplace > "ipod guy"

"ipod guy"
Thread Tools
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: boston
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2005, 09:46 PM
 
Has anyone dealt with this site before: http://www.genetheipodguy.com ?

I am not promoting it, just curious if it is legit. They seem to be offering REALLY cheap prices on ipods, and also wholesale deals.
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cooperstown '09
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2005, 10:35 PM
 
Yikes, I wouldn't touch that with somebody else's credit card!
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 26, 2005, 02:29 AM
 
Looks legit to me.. it is a secure site, whois lookup shows that the site was created September 26th, and will expire on the same date next year. So whether or not Gene is here for the long haul remains to be seen, but it is nice that there is lots of contact information on the website. I'd say call the listed number and find out for yourself.
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 26, 2005, 07:32 AM
 
"We accept wire transfer, money orders, certified checks, company and personal checks, Master Card, and Visa. Due to the low mark-up on wholesale orders, we have a 2.5% surcharge on Master Card and Visa orders. Wire transfers and checks never have a surcharge when you order from us. Remember personal and business checks have a 3-day hold."

Imposing a surcharge on VISA/Mastercard orders is a violation of their terms of service as a merchant. Wire transfers AND certified checks are also irreversible transactions. You're more likely to choose the latter over the former...so what I would do is, RUN, RUN, RUN.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: boston
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 26, 2005, 11:15 AM
 
Yeah, I agree it seems to good to be true. But I am surprised Apple hasn't taken any action against the site.


This guy also lists the same items on ebay, and seems to have a lot of feedback.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2