Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Why do I have so many problems with OS9?

Why do I have so many problems with OS9?
Mac Elite
Jan 1, 2000, 01:02 PM

I've been using macs for many years and whenever a new system update comes out, I always perform a clean install and have no major problems. However, with OS9, I perform a clean install just fine... BUT the problem is that when I start using it, applications crash over and over like there is no tomorrow with memory type errors. Then eventually, my computer just freezes. I have a new iMac DV with 192 megs of RAM. I already alocate more than the standard amount (default) RAM to my commonly used applications. Please, if anyone can help, I'd really like to get OS9 working on my computer.. Right now, I reverted back to 8.6 for the iMacDV. I've heard of people having problems with OS9 and was wondering if those were the same problems that I'm having. If anyone has any idea what the deal is, I'd really like to know!

Thanks in advance, lets see if we can get this machine operating better!

Mike
2009 MacMini 2.0 C2D 4GB (3,1) - Needs update!
11" MBA (2010 1.6GHz C2D)
iPhone 4 / iPad!
Hooked on Apple since the IIGS

hmr
Dedicated MacNNer
Jan 1, 2000, 04:34 PM

I reformatted my hard drive and after that I Mac OS 9 has been ... allright.

Grizzled Veteran
Jan 1, 2000, 09:03 PM

OS9 installs some new ATi library's, and keeps some of the older ones...This is a problem. I suggets installing macos9, and then installing OpenGL 1.1.2 This solved a lot of my crashes and such.

------------------
-See Yea!

newsmac
Jan 1, 2000, 09:17 PM