Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Weird Norton Antivirus behavior

Weird Norton Antivirus behavior
Forum Regular
Apr 17, 2001, 12:12 PM

Anybody notice NA start an unscheduled disk scan and then immediately crash the computer at the end of the scan? This happens occasionally to me on 2 different computers so far. Does anybody else out there observe this behavior? What could be the cause?
What's the deal with Star Wars severed limbs?

Fresh-Faced Recruit
Apr 27, 2001, 09:19 PM

NAV bad. I mean how many viruses are there in the world for mac. I have been using the Mac for 14 years and have never had a virus. Hell, I've never seen one on a PC. NAV and McAffe and all the others are just extraneous extensions that can crash your machine.

------------------
Get a new outlook on tech support at Gibsonhax0r.net

Mac Elite
Apr 28, 2001, 04:09 PM

If you use floppies or zip disks that have had unprotected intercourse with labs, in schools or elsewhere, an antivirus app is essential. NAV is more instrusive than other antivirus apps, but it's also pretty thorough. In fact, I feel pretty uneasy because I'm running X and have no antivirus protection.

------------------
Es ist der Geist, der sich den Körper baut.--Goethe
And that's true too.--Shakespeare, King Lear

Fresh-Faced Recruit
Apr 28, 2001, 04:38 PM