Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Favorites Folder

Favorites Folder
Forum Regular
Feb 29, 2000, 09:00 PM

This is a little bit embarrassing. I'm an Apple authorized repair technician but I can't for the life of me figure this one out. Does anyone know?

How on earth do you remove the "Favorites" folder from your System Folder (and Apple Menu) and KEEP IT REMOVED. Every time I restart, something regenerates the folder.

I can't find anything about this annoying feature anywhere on Apple's TIL or in the forums. There MUST be a way to get rid of this Microsoft-like behavior. Someone....???? Anyone????

------------------
Damien Barrett
http://www.mrbarrett.com

Professional Poster
Feb 29, 2000, 09:26 PM

i am sure it would require a bit of ResEditing, dialog boxes have the Favorites folder in them as well... i mean to say that it is likely that you'd need to edit a few resources in order to really rid yourself of the Favorites folder, and then maybe MacOS would not like you. might even take it personally.

don't know why you'd want to, it's handy enough

[This message has been edited by wlonh (edited 02-29-2000).]

Damien  (op)
Forum Regular
Feb 29, 2000, 10:03 PM

My Apple Menu is the core of my productivity. I have been using it for years, fine-tuning the hierarchical menus of aliases for speedy access to my most-used and essential applications/documents/etc.

BeHierarchic and AMICO are great tools.