It is set to leave a copy on the server. However, if an email is still on the server, it will show a specific sign in front of it. By clicking on it, I have the opportunity to leave it or erase it from the server. I made a search of all my mac.com email and none of the sign. This means that they are not on the server anymore.
Do you have another idea?