Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Help! extensions & os 9.2 menus...

Help! extensions & os 9.2 menus...
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Nov 5, 2001, 01:39 AM

Hi all, im new to macnn as well as macs in general so please bear with me.

Problems: 1. the extensions manager comes up every time i boot up. 2. the menus in 9.2 (haven't checked 10.1), i.e. everything in the white bar at the top, requires me to click and hold instead of it staying onscreen if i just click it. (quite annoyng)

What I did: while reading up on my 17" studio display, i found out there are buttons on the front of my lcd screen, so i played with them. pressing the power on the screen powered up the comp, and while it was booting, i pressed the energy button (which was suppose to bring up the monitor preferences). but, i did this before i was in the actual os, so when it got to the part where the little icons appear on the bottom while t boots, there was this msg about extensions and saving it or something, i didn't really read it since i thought it was a minor thing on the account of me playing around with the little button on the monitor. But, when i got in the os, the menu thing started happening, so i rebooted (works in windows...) but it's not fixed and the extensions manager now opens every time i boot up (before the icons on the bottom start loading).

this is my first mac, so im not used to this concept of extensions...plz help.

Mac Elite
Nov 5, 2001, 05:35 AM

Well, welcome to the mac & MacNN

Your description of the problem is a little cryptic, but I'll start here....