Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > software restore vs. software install discs

software restore vs. software install discs
Thread Tools
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 27, 2001, 08:36 PM
 
My Mac came with two disks - Software Restore and Software Install, with no explanation of the difference. Both provide numerous options for re-installing the OS while preserving your applications, data, etc.

Could someone explain to me when one or the other disc should be used, and why? Thanks in advance.

P.S. I attempted a search of the board 3 times, but the search function doesn't appear to be working.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: The Valley of the Sun
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 27, 2001, 09:18 PM
 
Hi zigzag,
The Software restore disk contains a disk image that allows you 3 options... 1)restore (backing up current drive to a folder), 2)restore in place (overwrites like files - ie system, applications, etc, w/o erasing anything you might have installed or the preferences), 3)restore (erasing hard drive). While the software install allows more customization and doesn't tie you to the factory default configuration, allowing you to reinstall just certain applications or certain parts of the system software... The software restore is great if you want to bring your computer back to the factory default configuration...
hope this helps...
dave
     
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 28, 2001, 12:08 AM
 
Originally posted by ddiokno:
The software restore is great if you want to bring your computer back to the factory default configuration...
hope this helps...
dave
Note it will not be factory default once you've installed the new firmware...
n+N

Got Vurt? Jeff Noon
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: The Valley of the Sun
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 30, 2001, 08:03 PM
 
Originally posted by tonton:
Note it will not be factory default once you've installed the new firmware...
Software wise it will be if the erase feature is used. The other two options allow the user to keep existing files and preferences. The new firmware will still be intact, but the ORIGINAL FACTORY SOFTWARE will be restored...
dave

     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2015 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2