Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Mac OS 8.6 on Centris 610

Mac OS 8.6 on Centris 610
cyberapostle
Aug 14, 2000, 11:41 PM

Hello!
I recently got an old Centris 610 and LC 475 mac system(s)

I was wondering if I could use OS 8.6 on the Centris. I am a new mac user/wannabe tech and I know nothing about compatibility or anything.

Also, what can these old machines be used for??? (bsides paper weights or elevation platforms for my iMac! heheehhhe

Any info would be swell!

Thanx ><>

Administrator
Aug 15, 2000, 02:09 AM

Welcome to the Mac platform!
Here are the Apple specification pages for your two machines. Centris 619 LC 475

Apple says the maximum OS version you can use is Mac OS 8.0 on both, but Apple doesn't always update the older specs. You can probably run OS 8.1

After that, the Mac OS jumps to 8.5 and requires a PowerPC processor for 8.5 and later. So you can't run 8.6 on either machine, unless you could find some PowerPC upgrade card. Probably not worth the cost.

Uses for old machines vary from file servers to internet surf boxes and other odds and ends. This is a frequent topic in this Older Systems & Clones forum. Check out a few other threads. There are quite a few ideas, not counting those Macquarium things.

[This message has been edited by reader50 (edited 08-15-2000).]

Tim Michael (finboy)
Aug 15, 2000, 07:49 PM