Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Internet Connection from 7500/100

Internet Connection from 7500/100
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Apr 3, 2002, 09:50 AM

Hi,

I'm new to Macs and looking for some help. I volunteered to connect a Power Mac 7500/100 to the internet for someone and it wouldn't seem to be as straightforward as I thought.

Firstly, it's running MacOS 7.5 something - do I need to upgrade it and to what?

Secondly, it has a GeoPort which I'd never seen before. Do I need a special modem to connect to this or will a standard one plus a special cable do? If the latter, what about modem drivers?

Also, can you recommend a browser and e-mail package. I'm used to Explorer and Outlook but I guess these might not be the best options.

Thanks in anticipation.

Forum Regular
Apr 3, 2002, 08:14 PM

MacOS 7.5 will probably be OK.

First off, do you have an actual GeoPort pod, or is it just that you noticed the GeoPort port on the back of the chassis? A normal modem will not work in the GeoPort port. If you have a "normal" modem, you'll have to use the printer port. Once we've determined if you have the GeoPort pod, then we can proceed down one of two paths to get you on the internet... The GeoPort pod has a cable on one end that plugs into the back of the computer, and the other end has two phone jacks, "in" and "out". If that's what you have, then you'll need to download the latest "Apple Telecom" software from the Apple web site. Otherwise, you'll be going with a standard modem, which I really don't know much about...

Explorer and Outlook are certainly OK, but I prefer Netscape and Eudora Pro.

Forum Regular
Apr 3, 2002, 08:42 PM