Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Upgrade or Buy new system?

Upgrade or Buy new system?
cchapin
Oct 21, 1999, 06:05 PM

I have an Apple PPC 9600/300. Should I buy a G4 card and upgrade or save my money and buy a new system? I am a graphic designer, have lots of extra stuff - scanner, printer, several removeable drives - so if I bought new I would also have to get a PCI card to go from USB to SCSI and add a floppy drive. Is all that worth it or should I just upgrade? Any ideas on what to upgrade with if I choose that?

Mac Enthusiast
Oct 21, 1999, 06:11 PM

Sounds like upgrade to me...but that's just me.

Mac Enthusiast
Oct 21, 1999, 09:55 PM

You have the last of the 6 PCI slot Macs. If you are a serious designer, keep it!

Buy the Orange Micro combo USB/Firewire Card for $150 and you are caught up technology wise only using one slot.

If you want inexpensive IDE hard drives, buy the UltraATA/33 IDE card from ProMax. It works great!

Drewman

Posting Junkie
Nov 6, 1999, 07:10 PM

I would say to upgrade and just spraypaint your computer graphite-colored!

Grizzled Veteran
Nov 7, 1999, 05:27 PM

Considering how much faster 100 mhz bus is now, and 4xAGP will be, I would wait for 2nd generation G4.

I don't have any trouble on Yosemite using SCSI scanners (35mm and flatbed) or two external HDDs and one internal. Using SCSI Sentry II (seems essential) also preserves ultra SCSI 20MB/sec thruput.

You could buy a G4 upgrade for $900 but would it be worth it? The Blue G3 flies through things my older PowerMac struggled with (good video card, faster RAM and bus) my system feels faster than benchmarks say.