Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > G5 Liquidation Scam. Watch out!

G5 Liquidation Scam. Watch out!
Thread Tools
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 10, 2003, 12:41 PM
 
I know this topic doesn't really belong here, but I wanted to warn people.

There is a scam on ebay that goes something like this:

The person is selling a G5 on ebay for really cheap ($1200 for Dual G5). They say they are liquidating a huge stock for a store that went out of business (usually in europe somewhere).

The person emails you and explains how they want you to send the money Western Union to YOUR friend in another country, and give the seller the money transfer number. This way the seller can see that you have sent the money, but they cannot collect it. They will then send you the product and once you get it you will change the name of the receiver to the sellers name. But they don't tell you that with this transfer number than can easily get the persons name you have sent the money to and pick it up.

Western Union is aware of this scam, but there isn't much they can do apparently. I asked the seller to email me a picture of the G5, and they responded "The G5 is in the box, unopened, so I cannot send you a picture." I emailed them back and said "How about a picture of the BOX with a note attached that says SCAM."

Be careful!
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 10, 2003, 01:34 PM
 
There are a lot of scams on ebay like this, and for all different types of products, including different Macs.

Basically, avoid any auction that requires you to get prior approval to bid. Every one of those that I've seen so far has been a scam.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 10, 2003, 01:45 PM
 
Originally posted by jasonsRX7:
There are a lot of scams on ebay like this, and for all different types of products, including different Macs.

Basically, avoid any auction that requires you to get prior approval to bid. Every one of those that I've seen so far has been a scam.
Any auction that requires Western Union is a bad idea. Every fraud seems to involve (1) a foreign country and (2) Western Union.

Personally, I would not consider buying without using a credit card (via paypal, or whatever), because without it you have no protection.
Mac Pro 2x 2.66 GHz Dual core, Apple TV 160GB, two Windows XP PCs
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2003, 03:04 PM
 
I went back and forth with this guy (supposedly) from the Netherlands who was selling a dual G5 for $1600. He gave me the whole Western Union line and even went so far as to ship me the computer BEFORE I sent any money. Of course, when I checked the weight of the package on FedEx it was about sixteen pounds and it was delayed for improper invoicing. Guess he didn't want me to have his bowling ball.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2