Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > Dual 2.0 G5 auction--scam?

Dual 2.0 G5 auction--scam?
Thread Tools
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 10, 2004, 07:59 PM
 
http://page.auctions.shopping.yahoo....6?aucview=0x13

Legit or scam (note payment options in description)?
I do not like those green links and spam.
I do not like them, Sam I am.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 10, 2004, 08:01 PM
 
Why do you think it is a scam? Is it because he doesnt want personal checks or because he only wants a wire transfer? Sounds ok to me...
     
Macola  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 10, 2004, 08:04 PM
 
Red flags: suspended from eBay, wants Western Union or wire transfer for payment.

However, the BIN price is reasonable, not ridiculously low.
I do not like those green links and spam.
I do not like them, Sam I am.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 10, 2004, 08:08 PM
 
Hmm... didnt see the suspended account. Exactly 1 month ago as well. There are no negative feedback though. Hmm all of those feedbacks in 1 day... I wouldnt buy from him, sounds like a possible scam.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 10, 2004, 08:32 PM
 
something smells fishy. and it's not the cat.

Don't try to outweird me, I get stranger things than you free with my breakfast cereal.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oz
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 10, 2004, 08:40 PM
 
Haha I saw that same auction on Australian eBay.
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Pit
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 11, 2004, 08:30 AM
 
Do you people remember the Teresa Smith and Shadowsb incident? Be careful about these auctions that look "too good to be true"!!!!!

http://www.ago.state.ma.us/txt/tsmith.htm
http://www.ago.state.ma.us/txt/tsmith2.htm

A lot of people got ripped off during this scam so make sure you double check everything before you wire or send payments that can't be retracted. My advice is buy from Apple.com!!!

Hope this helps.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 11, 2004, 01:10 PM
 
Scam-o-rama
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2