Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Scam Apple Reseller?

Scam Apple Reseller?
Thread Tools
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2003, 10:37 PM
 
Is this web site too good to be true? The prices are way below retail. Has anyone had any experience with them or ordered from them?

http://www.applediscount.com/store/
     
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2003, 10:49 PM
 
Well first problem is the domain (according to whois info listed below) was first created a few weeks ago. In other words, they have been in business less than a month. I will look more into it and see what else I can find but lets face it, they're selling 17" Powerbooks for around $2200 so what does that tell you? S.C.A.M.

Whois info:

WHOIS Record for
applediscount.com Back-order this name


Registrant:
Domains By Proxy (TRYAIZDOMD)
16771 NE 80th Street, Suite 10
Redmond, WA 98052
US

Domain Name: APPLEDISCOUNT.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
VeriSign, Inc. (HOST-ORG) namehost@WORLDNIC.NET
VeriSign, Inc.
21355 Ridgetop Circle
Dulles, VA 20166
US
1-888-642-9675

Record expires on 29-Mar-2004.
Record created on 29-Mar-2003.
Database last updated on 5-Apr-2003 23:46:50 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS.SPEEDY-DNS.NET 69.10.141.77
NS2.SPEEDY-DNS.NET 69.10.141.77
     
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2003, 10:58 PM
 
Here is another "suspicion" from their website:

"All items are dispatched from our warehouse in Sittard, Netherlands via UPS Worldwide"

Netherlands ?

I must say the website is very "professional" with integrated shopping card etc.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: manila, philippines
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2003, 11:16 PM
 
this site has already been reported on several boards as a scam. it always amazes me how they continue to attract serious attention, perhaps from people desperately willing to believe that they can get something for next to nothing.

common sense, please--why should anyone sell what has to be the week's most prized commodity (for immediate possession of which some people might even pay a premium) at 2/3 its price? geez....

Originally posted by Karim:
Here is another "suspicion" from their website:

"All items are dispatched from our warehouse in Sittard, Netherlands via UPS Worldwide"

Netherlands ?

I must say the website is very "professional" with integrated shopping card etc.
AlBook 867 640/60/Combo/APE
iBook 500 320/10/CD/AP
2400c 180 80/18/Wi-Fi
Tons of Duos, Anything Mac and Small!
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2003, 11:20 PM
 
Right. Remember those ordered-from-apple-day-of-the-keynote powerbooks selling for $4200 on eBay when they first were available?

Remember the numbers of people wanting to buy them?

Ask yourself this: WHY would they sell this for $2200, when they could undercut the catalogs by a couple hundred and still come out far ahead? Why would they sacrifice their profits? I don't think actual retailer prices are anywhere near this, anyway!
     
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Illinois
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2003, 11:20 PM
 
This thread is still on the front page...

http://forums.macnn.com/showthread.p...hreadid=154268
     
PeterKG  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 6, 2003, 12:30 AM
 
Originally posted by Icruise:
This thread is still on the front page...

http://forums.macnn.com/showthread.p...hreadid=154268
Sorry everyone. I had not caught the other threads. Glad to know everyone is aware this sight is a scam.

Makes you wonder how they are allowed to be up and running. You would think they would be shut down.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2