Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > New Powerbook G4 1ghz 17" for $285!!!

New Powerbook G4 1ghz 17" for $285!!!
Thread Tools
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 03:15 PM
 
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=14909

LOL

Anyone who falls for this scam deserves to get ripped off.
     
Baninated
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Cambridge, Chicago, Jerusalem (school/home/heart)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 03:24 PM
 
What's crazy is that he has 100% positive feedback so it's easy to trust him.
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 03:27 PM
 
So how does one get such amazing feedback? Hacking into account?

BTW This guy says he will give you a link where you can get the 17in for 285 worth of ebooks.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oakland, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 04:01 PM
 
Originally posted by Michel_80:
So how does one get such amazing feedback? Hacking into account?

BTW This guy says he will give you a link where you can get the 17in for 285 worth of ebooks.
Well no, look at his previous sales. There are like 4 or 5 of them that is the same deal, you buy this link for 10 bucks and then you buy 285 dollars worth of eBooks and you'll get a 17".

Either that or other people that brought it are friends that he knows. . . . I don't know. Someone try it .
     
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 04:07 PM
 
I would think once someone buys this info and gets ripped by the guy its linked to, this guy becomes an accessory to the crime.
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 05:01 PM
 
I think the seller is auctioning information to this site:

http://www.gotmatrix.com/

It looks like a pyramid scheme to me.
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 05:11 PM
 
Okay based on their rationale, the 17" is based on a matrix of 15 people and they're asking for $270 to enter the matrix (no pun intended). So they claim it works like this...

15 people sign up X $270 = $4050
- $3300 for the Powerbook
- shipping costs (e.g., $50)

Remaining Total: $700 (which they take as profit).

Person #1 gets the powerbook for $270 after 15 people sign up, and person #2 is the next in queue. However, 15 more people need to ante up the $270 before person #2 sees a computer.

Those in the matrix are encouraged to get as many people to sign up as possible, and so on and so on...

I think that's how this works. Feel free to correct me.

I think people who sign up early might actually get a product; however, this gets exponentially difficult very quickly the farther down the list you are.

Bottom line: stay away!
(Last edited by shrink; Jun 10, 2003 at 07:03 PM. )
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oakland, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 08:04 PM
 
Shrink: Thanks for the run down
     
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 09:38 PM
 
Sounds like a good old fashioned pyramid scheme.

Its nice to be the king!
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In my tree making cookies
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2003, 11:02 PM
 
Yep, the bad part is that matrix-pyramid schemes are starting to get real popular. The good part is that the owners are starting to go to jail.
     
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2003, 09:12 AM
 
Originally posted by ae86_16v:
Well no, look at his previous sales. There are like 4 or 5 of them that is the same deal, you buy this link for 10 bucks and then you buy 285 dollars worth of eBooks and you'll get a 17".

Either that or other people that brought it are friends that he knows. . . . I don't know. Someone try it .
You know, I have already been to this site. The eBooks is what jogged my memory. There was a discussion here months ago about a new pyramid scheme for 17" powerbooks. If you do a search around feb-mar 2003 you will find the info and the website address.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2