Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > eBay Scam Me Thinks...

eBay Scam Me Thinks...
Thread Tools
as2
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Northants, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 19, 2003, 08:10 AM
 
Ok,

so saw one of these 'pre approved bidder only' auctions on eBay and emailed the guy to say that I would be intereseted in buying, but only if I could collect the item from derby (where it says the item is registered) and pay cash.

This was the reply I got

Re: eBay item 2753536632

Hi there and thanks for your interest.
_
I have these items in stock.All are new still in original box unopened
and are covered by a 3 years manufacturer warranty.
Because of the multiple problems that I have had with non paying bidders
I've decided to restrict the bidding for my auctions.
_
If you are interested in buying something from me here is my price list:
_
Apple PowerBook G4,17",1GHz,1GB DDR SDRAM + 23"Cinema Display_ = 1800 GBP
_
Apple Power Mac G5 Dual 2GHz G5 + 23"+20" (Two displays !!!) = 2300 GBP
_
The computers will come with all the extras listed in the auction.
_
The shipping and insurance cost is included in the price.
The shipping will be made from Germany so there will be no extra import taxes
for you to pay sice betwen the european countries there are no custom_ taxes.
The shipping will be done through UPS 2 days .
Please let me know if you want to order something from me
or if you don't agree with the above prices please let me know
what is the best price that you can offer me and I will consider it.
I will wait your answer as soon as possible since I have many interested customers.
_
Warm Regards,
Donald
£1800... I doubt there is any way it can be that cheap without being nicked!

And a dual G5 'in stock' with two monitors for less than 3k.. he's having a laugh!

His eBay user id is 'dinky-don'
[img=http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/1300/desktj.jpg]
     
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NORAD (England branch)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 19, 2003, 02:25 PM
 
These are definitely scams. Very irritating as I'm trying to buy a portable Mac at the moment and these scams are clogging up ebay big time. The prices are stupidly low and very suspicious.

Try this excellent guide for more info:

Scams

Hope that helps.
     
as2  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Northants, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 19, 2003, 07:27 PM
 
Thanks - didn't know about that site.

People are already trying to make money from the scams, but selling books that claim to help you avoid powerbook scams...

idiots.
[img=http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/1300/desktj.jpg]
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2