Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > How low can you go?

How low can you go?
Thread Tools
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Somewhere
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2003, 01:03 AM
 
Is anyone familiar with this company? They are selling Macs for so much cheaper. The websight looks legit but why are they so much cheaper? It even offers a 30 day return policy.
Any feedback?
Here's the link.
http://www.martinsco.com/
iMac 24" 2.8 Ghz Core 2 Extreme
500GB HDD
4GB Ram
Proud new Owner!
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2003, 01:25 AM
 
Seems fishy. Even below student discount price....
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2003, 01:30 AM
 
Actually those prices are in Euro's, I think?

Conversion via Oanda.com matches EDU price with Euro v. Canadian dollar with those prices.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2003, 05:27 AM
 
The websight looks legit
It does? That site looks like it was done with a template you'd get free with your ISP. I don't know whether or not the company is legit, but their site is amateurish.

And why put the quote from the guy who thinks it's an acronym ("MAC") as the first customer testimonial? If you just have to use that one, bury it!

Here's proof you can even do a lot of cutting & pasting from Apple's website and still have a polished, professional-looking reseller website.
Slide to Unlock
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CO
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2003, 06:10 AM
 
quote:
____________
Here's proof you can even do a lot of cutting & pasting from Apple's website and still have a polished, professional-looking reseller website.
____________

Yes, that's very nice ( except for spelling MacAttack "MacActtack" in a headline
     
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2003, 06:13 AM
 
Going by the phone number I'd say they're operating out of the UK. But a company in the UK wouldn't be an LLC it'd be Ltd.

Now I've read further they also list a UK address, but a quick look through the business directory for that area doesn't show a Martins Company LLC. The only business listed with that postal code (RG12 8SN) is Fujitsu-Siemens.

You'd also expect a business to have an answering machine for weekends, but no there's a fax machine on both lines (Yes I did call them out of curiosity)...
(Last edited by Blackstealth; Oct 19, 2003 at 06:32 AM. )
     
Photo Architect
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2003, 08:00 AM
 
And you have to add VAT.
"Microsoft is a cross between the Borg and the Ferengi. Unfortunately, they use Borg to do their marketing and Ferengi to do their programming." Simon Slavin

Me on Flickr.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 20, 2003, 12:49 AM
 
Aren't these the chaps who'll only take payment by, uh, wire transfer?

Seems enough said on their legitimacy.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2