Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Amazon.com Question

Amazon.com Question
Thread Tools
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Redlands
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 5, 2004, 11:20 AM
 
I have been looking at amazon for some new computers based on the responses here about the rebates. A few days ago, I came across this: Apple PowerBook Notebook 15" M9422LL/A (1.50-GHz PowerPC G4, 512 MB RAM, 80 GB Hard Drive, SuperDrive). Listed at Amazon for 150 rebate, but under the "used and new" category, for $700? I looked at this category, and five or more sellers are selling at this price. These sellers are new amazon people, and I'm wondering if there is any gurantee that these products will be real. Here's the url that I was at:
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...392497-3840934

Check it out and let me know if this is bogus or really true.
Thanks,
pbook28
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 5, 2004, 11:54 AM
 
As a general rule, if it looks too good to be true, it is. Every 1.5 GHz PowerBook is still under even the most basic Apple warranty, so a broken or refurb model has no reason to be so heavily discounted - the seller would have Apple fix it before putting it on sale.

Consider this: Apple's selling the same model, refurbished, for $2099 US. There's clearly something fishy if a reseller is pushing one for less than half an already heavily-discounted price.
24-inch iMac Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alaska
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 5, 2004, 03:04 PM
 
When shopping for my powerbook, I found the same exact thing you did. Out of the three people that were selling at that how price, they were from Italy, Romania, and Bulgaria. They will all want you to send the money first by means of Western Union. It is a scam, and you will be ripped off, I can guarantee it. If ANYONE on the internet you don't know personally asks you to send money via WU, its most likely a scam.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: brooklyn, ny
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 5, 2004, 03:26 PM
 
i came across the exact same thing while trying to do some heavy duty bargain shopping. i wanted to purchase from the seller through amazon.com and he said he had just checked with amazon and being as that he lives in romania he wasnt allowed to recieve money from the amazon marketplace but not to worry because he was an honest person with a family. he also wanted me to send him money via western union but he said it was totally safe because i wouldnt have to reveal the name i left it under until after i recieved the powerbook. we were corresponding back and forth via e-mail and at first the e-mails were totally professional in perfect english and then after a while they started coming in broken and improper english, i suppose to renforce his story. its a total scam. i eventually caved and bought a refurb from apple and i couldn't be happier.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2