Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Tablet iBook?

Tablet iBook?
Thread Tools
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2006, 02:44 PM
 
Saw this auction on eBay:http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=8750636690

Is this legit? Looks interesting and plausible, yet I tend not to believe it.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2006, 04:53 PM
 
I heard of this before, and it's interesting to note, they haven't built one yet. I mean, somebody has, and these people seem to think that they're capable of doing it too, but there's nowhere on their website or eBay auction that indicates that the seller has actually accomplished this conversion in practice.

Even if they do intend to follow through with their promise, you'd have to be an idiot to bid on this.

btw, I thought they'd already tried putting up an auction for one of these and it was pulled. I imagine this'un will meet the same fate.
     
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2006, 07:12 PM
 
That isn't real a real Apple product, so I wouldn't spend $1500 on it.
iMac 24" | Core 2 Extreme 2.8GHz | 4GB RAM | 500GB HD
PowerBook G4 15" HR | 1.67GHz | 2GB RAM | 100GB HD
R.I.P 1995 Toyota Supra NA-T
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2006, 07:51 PM
 
Wow, some dimbulb actually bought it. Hope they have some luck getting their money back when the seller can't get the mods working and winds up shipping them a busted-ass iBook or perhaps nothing..
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Where do you think? Really, Guess...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2006, 08:29 PM
 
wow, did you guys actually read the page, they're not trying to pass it off as an original apple product, right in the name of the item it says "(built from ibook)". But your still right the guys who bidded on this is a retard, and not in the mentally disabled way.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2006, 09:31 PM
 
Well, I didn't say he was dumb for thinking it was an original Apple product. I was pointing out that there's no evidence that the seller has ever done or is capable of doing the conversion. That's why only a moron would buy from them.

And Velocity211 wasn't saying that they were passing it off as an original Apple thing, just that that's why he/she personally wouldn't bid on it.

But anyway, it looks like we're all in agreement here...
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 14, 2006, 06:16 AM
 
http://www.itablet.theplaceforitall.com/

Go there.

I have heard of this before, the iTab. It looks very legit to me. I don't think that it is worth $1500. A port replicator for it would be awesome.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 14, 2006, 07:56 AM
 
What the hell are you talking about, it looks very legit to you? These people give no evidence whatsoever that they know how to do the modification. They don't even appear to have done it once, you know, just to make sure that they can pull it off before they take someone's money. The fact is, they don't even have the iBook and touchscreen around. If you look at the eBay auction terms, they order those things after they get your money.

Even if they actually build one and ship it to the buyer, I'm still right that as of now, it's incredibly stupid to take them at their word. Unless you happen to find out who they are, meet them in person, and see that they have some skill with a Dremel and electronic bits.

In your defense, Tuoder, you might have heard of someone who actually built his iBook into a tablet and later sold it on eBay to fund his next tinkering project.

But he has nothing to do with these people who are purporting to create a business out of taking your money before they even have the components for your product without having any sort of reputation..
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles of the East
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 14, 2006, 02:24 PM
 
the bidder could be wealthy beyond your wildest dreams...relax people.
NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)
     
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 14, 2006, 02:37 PM
 
At first I thought it would flip out like a regular tablet computer, but it doesn't, there isn't a keyboard or touchpad
iMac 24" | Core 2 Extreme 2.8GHz | 4GB RAM | 500GB HD
PowerBook G4 15" HR | 1.67GHz | 2GB RAM | 100GB HD
R.I.P 1995 Toyota Supra NA-T
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 14, 2006, 04:53 PM
 
Originally Posted by iREZ
the bidder could be wealthy beyond your wildest dreams...relax people.
Sigh.. You, too, miss my point. I'm not saying the bidder is an idiot because the item is overpriced. I don't actually think the price is too unreasonable for someone who cares more about the tablet functionality than the computing power.

The bidder is an idiot because there's no good reason to trust the seller. Even if you're ridiculously wealthy, $1500 is too much to spend on something whose existence you can't confirm.

Will somebody sensible please show up in this thread to back me up?
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 15, 2006, 06:14 AM
 
Originally Posted by slugslugslug
What the hell are you talking about, it looks very legit to you? These people give no evidence whatsoever that they know how to do the modification. They don't even appear to have done it once, you know, just to make sure that they can pull it off before they take someone's money. The fact is, they don't even have the iBook and touchscreen around. If you look at the eBay auction terms, they order those things after they get your money.

Even if they actually build one and ship it to the buyer, I'm still right that as of now, it's incredibly stupid to take them at their word. Unless you happen to find out who they are, meet them in person, and see that they have some skill with a Dremel and electronic bits.

In your defense, Tuoder, you might have heard of someone who actually built his iBook into a tablet and later sold it on eBay to fund his next tinkering project.

But he has nothing to do with these people who are purporting to create a business out of taking your money before they even have the components for your product without having any sort of reputation..
I didn't say that I would buy one. I didn't say that their buisiness model was good (waiting for parts shipment before doing the mod). I didn't even say that is was legitimate. I said that it looked kegitimate to me. This is not just cause to insult me.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 15, 2006, 09:02 AM
 
I didn't say that you would buy one or thought that their biz model was good.

I am, frankly, baffled, that you think this even looks legitimate. I have yet to see anyone give any grounds for trusting these people. I should also point out that such a ridiculous business model should undermine anyone's confidence in the legitimacy of this whole thing.

If you take my criticism of your statement, or perhaps my use of the H word, as an insult, I guess I insulted you then. I'd still like to know how the hell you came to the conclusion that this looks legit. If their site/auction don't scream "Scam!", they oughta at least mutter "These people are in over their heads."
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 15, 2006, 01:32 PM
 
Nevermind, we'll just see how the feedback shows up on ebay. It ended on January 19, so it should be soon that feedback shows up.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 15, 2006, 03:46 PM
 
except I said this:
Even if they actually build one and ship it to the buyer, I'm still right that as of now, it's incredibly stupid to take them at their word.
That is, if the bidder is happy later, he's still stupid now, unless he actually investigated the seller's credibility. People with half a brain don't hand that much money to someone with no reputation.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 15, 2006, 06:24 PM
 
The seller has a rating of 32 with 100% positive feedback. 22 out of the 32 were from buyers. That is not an awesome rating, but it is a rating.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2