Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Official Mac Notebook Picture Thread

Official Mac Notebook Picture Thread (Page 40)
Thread Tools
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 6, 2005, 03:10 PM
 
The 12" PowerBook (left) is my personal machine. 1.33 GHz / SuperDrive. In this photo it's running in clamshell mode, attached to a 17" LCD, and mostly wireless with a Bluetooth mouse and keyboard. Printing and audio are running over AirPort.

My work system (right) is a brand new 15" PowerBook.

Click to enlarge.





     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 6, 2005, 04:20 PM
 
Well.... my old TiBook's hinges broke so I removed the monitor and taped a magnet on the trackpad. Now it runs with a 17" Sony monitor.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 6, 2005, 09:10 PM
 
edit: nevermind!
( Last edited by Apfhex; Nov 6, 2005 at 09:33 PM. )
Mac OS X 10.5.0, Mac Pro 2.66GHz/2 GB RAM/X1900 XT, 23" ACD
esdesign
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2005, 12:11 PM
 
I have to use both PC and Mac for work. I just RDC into my PC using my Mac, you can see the XP screen in the background. Notice the Dell sitting on top of the Mac below the LCD.
Apple 15" WS PB 1.67 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 100 GB HD, Super Drive
Dell 700M 12.1" WS 1.6 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 40 GB HD, Combo Drive
Dell 2005FPW 20" SW
1 GB iPod Shuffle and 4 GB iPod Nano (Black)
Sony 5 MP DSC-T1, 1 GB Memory Stick
Motorola Razr V3 (Black)
Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
Gateway 13" LCD TV
HP 2550 Color Laser
Apple iSight
Apple BT Wireless Keyboard and Mouse, Ratpadz GS mouse pad
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2005, 12:45 PM
 
Originally Posted by birdwellcc
I have to use both PC and Mac for work. I just RDC into my PC using my Mac, you can see the XP screen in the background. Notice the Dell sitting on top of the Mac below the LCD.
How do you like your 700m? I was thinking of picking one up to use at Borders, Starbucks etc..
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2005, 01:55 PM
 
700M is a great machine for the money, only bad thing is the battery life is a bit week without the optional 8 cell battery, however it sticks out the back about an inch. I use mine just to RDC into for work, and to have the portability to be able to take both computers with me when I travel etc.
Apple 15" WS PB 1.67 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 100 GB HD, Super Drive
Dell 700M 12.1" WS 1.6 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 40 GB HD, Combo Drive
Dell 2005FPW 20" SW
1 GB iPod Shuffle and 4 GB iPod Nano (Black)
Sony 5 MP DSC-T1, 1 GB Memory Stick
Motorola Razr V3 (Black)
Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
Gateway 13" LCD TV
HP 2550 Color Laser
Apple iSight
Apple BT Wireless Keyboard and Mouse, Ratpadz GS mouse pad
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2005, 02:01 PM
 
Originally Posted by birdwellcc
700M is a great machine for the money, only bad thing is the battery life is a bit week without the optional 8 cell battery, however it sticks out the back about an inch. I use mine just to RDC into for work, and to have the portability to be able to take both computers with me when I travel etc.

Why not RDC from the Mac? I have the MS version of RDC and it's great because it allows for mapping of drives, sound, and printers over the connection just like remoting in from a PC.
     
Senior User
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2005, 04:51 PM
 
Originally Posted by deuce868
Why not RDC from the Mac? I have the MS version of RDC and it's great because it allows for mapping of drives, sound, and printers over the connection just like remoting in from a PC.
From my understanding of his post, that is precisely what he is doing.
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2005, 05:05 PM
 
Originally Posted by Fusion
From my understanding of his post, that is precisely what he is doing.
Oops, I thought he was saying he used the Windows machine to remote into work.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York City, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2005, 08:48 PM
 
Originally Posted by Spaceman Spiff
Yea, I've been bugging my parents about it for awhile, and well, the answer is no (on them buying it). I have to save up myself. That's what I did for my iPod. (Although $300 is alot less than $2000.) So far I have some money saved up, and my birthday & Christmas is coming up, so I could save some of the money I get then.

P.S. Right now I'm stuck on Win XP. Were you a Mac user before your PowerBook?

P.S.S. How much money did you save per week? I wanna compare it to what im making.
i used windows ME for 4 years before i switched. some call it the worst OS ever. i like it better than XP. simple and to the point. however, the mac OS is the best by far. there is honestly no competition. i knew what i wanted (a 12 inch powerbook) and i went for it. in the end i saved extra, so i splurged and got the 15 inch as i knew i would enjoy the better/bigger/higher resolution screen rather than the portability of the 12 inch. i actually had enough to get the backlit keyboard too, so i went for it and it has come in handy many times. (no electricity, paper due the next day).


well 4.5 years= 52 weeksx4.5=234 weeks
$2100/234 weeks= ~$8.97 per week?

not very accurate though, cause there were many weeks i got nothing (school gets in the way) and a couple of money gifts i decided to save up. probably wouldn't be smart to compare to me especially to your parents. "but a guy i met on the internet makes 9 bucks a week!" yeah, wouldn't be smart.

anyway good luck.
iamwhor3hay
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 8, 2005, 12:10 PM
 
Yes, I am RDC'ing in from the Mac, I use the Mac for most of my normal activities, however I have to use the PC for some back-end server management software that only runs on IE, therefore I need the PC. The speed is much faster than Virtual PC etc.


Originally Posted by deuce868
Why not RDC from the Mac? I have the MS version of RDC and it's great because it allows for mapping of drives, sound, and printers over the connection just like remoting in from a PC.
Apple 15" WS PB 1.67 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 100 GB HD, Super Drive
Dell 700M 12.1" WS 1.6 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 40 GB HD, Combo Drive
Dell 2005FPW 20" SW
1 GB iPod Shuffle and 4 GB iPod Nano (Black)
Sony 5 MP DSC-T1, 1 GB Memory Stick
Motorola Razr V3 (Black)
Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
Gateway 13" LCD TV
HP 2550 Color Laser
Apple iSight
Apple BT Wireless Keyboard and Mouse, Ratpadz GS mouse pad
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 8, 2005, 12:19 PM
 
birdwellcc, your sig has too many lines. 6 lines under forum rules.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Senior User
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 8, 2005, 12:40 PM
 
Maybe he needs one more line, ya know, it looks like there is on size missing from that list.
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 8, 2005, 04:29 PM
 
Is there a way to trick a powerbook into thinking its running in clamshell mode.. basically i want to use just 1 external display without having the lid closed (without extended desktop). Any info?
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 05:02 PM
 
Originally Posted by Spaceman Spiff
Since you said you earned everything by working for the last 9 years, (which would be since you were 8.) what did you do? I am 13 and looking for a way to make enough money to buy a Powerbook 15". I'm looking for suggestions. Anyway, thanks in advance.
I'm a Powerseller on eBay, basically I purchase bulk electronics and I sell them, that started about 3 years ago. Before that, I would help a store fix electronic items.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 10, 2005, 12:10 AM
 
Originally Posted by Dekon
Is there a way to trick a powerbook into thinking its running in clamshell mode.. basically i want to use just 1 external display without having the lid closed (without extended desktop). Any info?
Wake the Powerbook from sleep in clamshell mode. Then open the display. It will stay off.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 10, 2005, 04:52 AM
 


The missus has taken over the Mac mini and 19" monitor to play World of Warcrack so I've had to create a secondary site so I can do my WoWing.

PowerBook17 with an XT-Stand (I leave the iCurve in the other room where the PB usually is), wired Apple keyboard, Logitech Optical Trackman, my Nokia and Creative TravelSound speakers (and my Grado SR80s if needed).

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Norway (I eat whales)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2005, 03:34 AM
 
Apple 15" WS PB 1.67 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 100 GB HD, Super Drive
Dell 700M 12.1" WS 1.6 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 40 GB HD, Combo Drive
Dell 2005FPW 20" SW
1 GB iPod Shuffle and 4 GB iPod Nano (Black)
Sony 5 MP DSC-T1, 1 GB Memory Stick
Motorola Razr V3 (Black)
Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
Gateway 13" LCD TV
HP 2550 Color Laser
Apple iSight
Apple BT Wireless Keyboard and Mouse, Ratpadz GS mouse pad
Signatures are easily confused with shopping lists apparently.

Sniffer gone old-school sig
     
Senior User
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2005, 04:29 AM
 
15" PowerBook 1440x960, 100GB 7200RPM, 1GB RAM.
60GB iPod.
Microsoft Explorer!





     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bochum, Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2005, 05:34 AM
 
Originally Posted by Fusion
15" PowerBook 1440x960, 100GB 7200RPM, 1GB RAM.
60GB iPod.
Microsoft Explorer!
^^^^^^^^^
I really like your mod! Care to share how you were able to do this?
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2005, 09:21 AM
 
The picture is not that good..but here is my setup... Pb 1.5 1gb ram...with my Ipods
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Somewhere
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2005, 01:03 PM
 
Originally Posted by Breno.Brazil
The picture is not that good..but here is my setup... Pb 1.5 1gb ram...with my Ipods
Don't misunderstand me Breno, but you are the epitome of a person with disposable income. 4 iPods and that beautiful 15" Powerbook. Besides all the hardware the reason that say that you have disposable income is because I can't believe that you would lay the bare metal of your iPod Nano directly on the Powerbook which is also metal which easily results in scratches on the Nano and it looks like you've done the same to the new iPod as well. But enjoy.
iMac 24" 2.8 Ghz Core 2 Extreme
500GB HDD
4GB Ram
Proud new Owner!
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2005, 01:33 PM
 
I did that mod on mine a while back--here's a few photos and notes on how I did mine. There's an easier way if you have some rounded hex bits.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sxates/sets/606291/
     
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Buenos Aires
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 12, 2005, 06:28 PM
 
Mine. Also displaying a cordless phone, an external drive and a TI AVIGO PDA (which I continue to use, but hate to carry).

Y no entienden nada... ¡y cómo se divierten!...
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 13, 2005, 08:08 AM
 
Originally Posted by Nai no Kami
Mine. Also displaying a cordless phone, an external drive and a TI AVIGO PDA (which I continue to use, but hate to carry).
Nice clean setup. The least clutter I've seen in a while.
15" Al PB 1.67, 15" Ti PB 667, Power Mac 400
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 13, 2005, 04:06 PM
 
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 13, 2005, 04:47 PM
 
Originally Posted by Marko Karppinen
What kind of keyboard is that?
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 13, 2005, 05:16 PM
 
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 13, 2005, 07:22 PM
 
Marko, is that Virtual PC running on your right monitor or is it hooked up to a XP machine?
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 14, 2005, 01:19 AM
 
Yeah, that's the Notebook version of the diNovo desktop (ie. standard USB dongle, no Bluetooth). On the left hand side, the machine is a 17-inch PowerBook (1.67GHz) and on the right hand side, a 3GHz Dell SX280. The keyboard and the Mighty Mouse are hooked up to the Mac, and the PC is controlled by them via Synergy so that the whole thing really works as a single workspace.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 14, 2005, 01:29 PM
 
Marko, does the num pad work on mac? I had the Bluetooth version when they first came out, the numbers didn't work.
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 14, 2005, 02:30 PM
 
It sort of works; every key except Enter works (including the volume and mute keys), but they all randomly output extra control sequences that I haven't figured out. So in Terminal, for example, when I press a number key I often get a beep and the number in question.
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 14, 2005, 02:32 PM
 
It sort of works; every key except Enter works (including the volume and mute keys), but they all randomly output extra control sequences that I haven't figured out. So in Terminal, for example, when I press a number key I often get a beep and the number in question.
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 14, 2005, 02:33 PM
 
(dupe)
( Last edited by Marko Karppinen; Nov 14, 2005 at 03:25 PM. )
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 15, 2005, 03:39 PM
 
does synergy work pretty good? i was trying to figure out a way to do basically what you're doing with 1 keyboard/mouse controlling one system.
1.5Ghz 15" Alluminum Powerbook, 1.5Gb RAM, 64mb VRAM
iPod 4g 40GB
Dell 2405FPW
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Washington, D.C.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 15, 2005, 08:37 PM
 
Not to sidetrack too much but what are the advantages of Synergy over Microsofts Remote Desktop?
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 16, 2005, 07:06 AM
 
I would imagine the fact that you're not taking the graphics over the slow network means you could play games and have better redraw performance vs remote desktop. Plus the other machine has a dedicated monitor.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 16, 2005, 01:54 PM
 
I use Synergy for the 2 PCs + Powerbook on my desk and it works pretty well. Remote desktop isn't even an alternative; I think someone doesn't understand what Synergy does
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Washington, D.C.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 16, 2005, 04:50 PM
 
Originally Posted by sxates
I use Synergy for the 2 PCs + Powerbook on my desk and it works pretty well. Remote desktop isn't even an alternative; I think someone doesn't understand what Synergy does
Exactly. Would you mind explaining it?
     
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 16, 2005, 09:52 PM
 
lets u use the same keyboard an mouse on various computers. Works with different OS's as well.
myflickr : mytwitter : twentyonethirty
17" Macbook Pro 2.6Ghz 4gb 200GB HD: 8gb Iphone 3g: Hp Mini 1000 Netbook
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 17, 2005, 03:35 PM
 
Synergy is a "software KVM." So you have a keyboard and mouse plugged into a computer that acts as the KVM server. Then you can set another computer next to it, set it up as a client, and the two will link up over your LAN. When set up properly, you can drag your mouse from the server's monitor to the client monitor seamlessly with no switches--it acts like a dual monitor set up, except each monitor has it's own computer powering it. And you can do it with more than 2 computers. Currently I have it set up for 3 on my desk--am typing on a PC keyboard on one computer, while this is actually being input on my powerbook. Whatever computer the mouse is on is where the keyboard is active. It's a great solution for those of us with multiple PCs in one place.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles of the East
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2005, 02:51 AM
 
less talk more pictures!!!!!!
NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2005, 09:50 AM
 
Just got my own place! Here's my set up.

http://homepage.mac.com/michaeltrauf...otoAlbum6.html

(kind of new to the world of web publishing)
I gotta have more cowbell.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West LA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2005, 02:14 PM
 
no Mbox?
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2005, 02:43 PM
 
I couldn't resist this thread... never mind how messy my dorm room is!

This is what insurance from a stolen 17" PowerBook G4 turns into:


(Click image for larger version)

PowerMac G4:
  • 2ghz G4 (PowerLogix)
  • 544mb RAM (Pulled from stripped Presarios)
  • Radeon 9800 128mb
  • CD-RW/DVD Combo
  • 190gb of HD Space
  • 19" ViewSonic LCD
  • PCI AirPort Card
  • Mac OS 10.4.3

PowerBook 1400c:
  • 466mhz G3 (Sonnet)
  • 64mb RAM
  • 800mb Solid State 2.5" IDE Hard Drive (NOT a PCMCIA flash reader)
  • PCMCIA AirPort Card
  • Mac OS 7.6.1

Believe it or not, I do use that System 7 PowerBook every day. It shares files, that ugly HP printer, and wireless internet from the G4...

They're my pride and joy now, and the 1400c is the basis of my website:

System7Today.com

It's interesting that the G4 scores way higher than my 1.5ghz stolen PowerBook did in Xbench. I didn't think it would, because of the slower bus and older design and everthing. However, it scores alot higher - right around where a 2ghz G4 would score if there was such a thing.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2005, 04:57 PM
 
Originally Posted by ericssonboi
Indeed...

kitcho:
CB7 Performance... an fellow Accord owner?
yes. my cb7 is a piece but im in envy of all the nice cb7s out there
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2005, 10:41 PM
 
I have done a write up about Synergy for those who are interested:

http://sxates.com/articles/synergy-not-just-a-cliche
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 21, 2005, 02:06 PM
 
Originally Posted by hickey
no Mbox?
I originally bought the mixer so that I could play my bass along with my ipod with out having to disturb the neighbors...i like to play it loud.

I don't do any audio recording at home so right now the mixer is intigrated into my computer speakers...so I can play a game and listen to my ipod at the same time, either in my speakers or my headphones.
I gotta have more cowbell.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles of the East
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 22, 2005, 12:51 AM
 
after a lil cleaning up..here we go. notice the cube behind the two monitors.



NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 22, 2005, 02:12 AM
 
The 12" powerbook drives the fpw alright? Is that a 2005 or 2405?
     
 
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2014 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2