Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Official Mac Notebook Picture Thread

Official Mac Notebook Picture Thread (Page 65)
Thread Tools
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles of the East
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 29, 2006, 12:29 AM
 
i think the question wasnt concerning whether which is better but how the macbook handled spanning on such large resolutions. i too am curious seeing how i might be interested in downgrading to a macbook for its smaller size and use a 20" lcd all the time.
NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 29, 2006, 09:08 AM
 
bingo iRez!
Actually here in the UK, the Dell 24' is £716.81, whereas with HE discount, the 23' ACD is only £646!

I just wanted to know if the Macbook's GMA950 coped well with such large resolutions (not for gaming)..
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 29, 2006, 01:52 PM
 




Just got the mighty mouse yesterday! There's a 20" LCD cut off, too...

For those looking for the clock screensaver:
9031: Free Downloads
It's the one called FLIQLO
( Last edited by mrplow; Jan 14, 2007 at 08:11 PM. )
     
Baninated
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 31, 2006, 01:23 AM
 
Received my Macbook, and did a review. Tell me what you think.

http://forums.macnn.com/66/ibook-and...c/#post3254008
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 31, 2006, 12:51 PM
 
Originally Posted by mrplow View Post




Just got the mighty mouse yesterday! There's a 20" LCD cut off, too...
Hey, what's that app that's running fullscreen in the second pic? It looks like some sort of clock program?
MacBook 2.0GHz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD
http://craigb6.blogspot.com/
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 31, 2006, 01:01 PM
 
Clock screen saver... I'd link you but now I can't find it. I found it on some other thread on macnn, but... I don't remember that either. email me and I can send you the file if you want it
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 1, 2007, 11:14 PM
 
Brand New.


New backround, Im sure some of you will like this one.
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Alabama
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 3, 2007, 02:07 AM
 
Dang, those bricks were niiiice. I wonder if my apt. complex would mind if I bricked my room?! lol.
PowerMac G4-733mhz-Quicksilver | 5th gen. iPod-Video-30gb-White. | Pentax *istDS DSLR
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 6, 2007, 04:33 AM
 


Vista RTM running in bootcamp
I like to mess around in winblows when I'm not being productive in OSX
ps- those fading-looking marks arent visible in person
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 6, 2007, 03:37 PM
 
Heres my PowBok::Image Lost:: 1.33Ghz, 1GB.
( Last edited by PowerPc = Pwnage; Aug 27, 2007 at 08:08 AM. )

"Oh! You smell good, what is that? Macintosh."-http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2006/03/03
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 6, 2007, 05:59 PM
 
Vista RTM? What's RTM stand for?
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 6, 2007, 06:07 PM
 
Originally Posted by ecking01 View Post
Vista RTM? What's RTM stand for?
Released To Manufacturer
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 7, 2007, 08:38 PM
 
My roommate's and my setup for the studio: Macbook 1.8, Mac Mini 1.66 1 GB, G4 12" Powerbook, 23" ACD......sold the Powerbook, added a Blackbook to the fam.

1.8Ghz Macbook. Week 23
1.66 Mini. 1GB RAM.
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 8, 2007, 02:53 AM
 
Originally Posted by Javizun View Post
Love the picture, the ambient lighting effect on the back makes the picture look stunning.
Thanks, too bad it's not a permanent light, I just had my cellphone light on and had it facing the corner behind the screen for the photo.
I should find a small soft light to put behind the screen permanently.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 12, 2007, 05:13 PM
 
Sorry for the lousy quality, it's off my phone.

Any ramblings are entirely my own, and do not represent those of my employers, coworkers, friends, or species
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 15, 2007, 01:53 PM
 


My setup at school.. not very good pictures, but oh well.
I took the LCD off it's base and then duct taped it to the wall.. it's pretty freakin' sweet.
Only downer is I can't turn it to face my bed now, but I can just use the macbook's internal display for that.
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 16, 2007, 09:22 PM
 
hey all. here is my setup in my new dorm room. Enjoy!



Yes I know about the wires. I'm currently working on that.

Alex

edit: why isn't this thread a sticky?! it was on page two
( Last edited by brassplayersrock²; Jan 16, 2007 at 09:29 PM. )
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: eating kernel
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2007, 08:25 AM
 
Originally Posted by brassplayersrock View Post
hey all. here is my setup in my new dorm room. Enjoy!



Yes I know about the wires. I'm currently working on that.

Alex

edit: why isn't this thread a sticky?! it was on page two
Wires much?
Signature depreciated.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles of the East
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2007, 06:14 PM
 
uhhhh am i missing something...or is a macbook not present in the picture above?
NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2007, 06:47 PM
 
think it might be out of sight?
     
Sub
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2007, 07:33 PM
 
Sorry if I am smeeking here, but has anyone found the screen size of the macbook to become annoying? I know many of you just hook it up to an external Monitor, but if I get one, I don't plan to. Thanks for the help.

( Last edited by Sub; Jan 25, 2007 at 05:39 PM. )
     
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2007, 08:00 PM
 
Originally Posted by Sub View Post
Sorry if I am smeeking here, but has anyone found the screen size of the macbook to become annoying? I know many of you just hook it up to an external Monitor, but if I get one, I don't plan to. Thanks for the help.
Not the screen size itself, but I do find the pixels per inch far too dense for everyday use. So, as you say, I use an external monitor for said everyday use and only the built in display when not at my desk.
BayBook (13" MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD) // BayPhone (iPhone 4, 32GB, black)
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2007, 08:21 PM
 
I think it's the perfect size.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2007, 01:55 AM
 
Screen size is awesome.. I love that the pixels are so dense, as you put it

..and yea, good call, I guess the Macbook is completely missing from my set up. It's sitting ontop of an old powermac g4 to the right of the desk ... oh well. I was going to take a better picture with it on the desk (Ala dual screen) but I no longer have a digi cam.
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2007, 12:22 PM
 
heres my setup



Its a 15 inch core duo MBP hooked up to a Western Digital 200 gig external, Logitech X-530's, and a samsung 19 inch wide lcd. Also a dell inspiron 6000 sits to the side, we dont really care about that though
     
Sub
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2007, 09:19 PM
 
I got a mighty mouse.
( Last edited by Sub; May 22, 2007 at 08:30 PM. )
     
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2007, 09:23 PM
 
Originally Posted by Sub View Post
Ok, I went to the apple store today and bought a keyboard and wireless mighty mouse for my 12" Powerbook, I tried the white macbook out, you may think I am crazy, but I love the built- in keyboard, it works better for me than the Powerbook's. I have some money in reserve, but not enough, I have a whole savings thing set up, where, If I decide to buy the Macbook, I will probably have enough around June 1st.

Btw, I love the Mighty Mouse and am so glad I picked it.

Thanks for reading.
When you get it your gonna love it. It will blow the doors off your G4 in terms of speed and in some cases even a G5.
myflickr : mytwitter : twentyonethirty
17" Macbook Pro 2.6Ghz 4gb 200GB HD: 8gb Iphone 3g: Hp Mini 1000 Netbook
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 19, 2007, 10:31 AM
 
Originally Posted by brassplayersrock View Post
hey all. here is my setup in my new dorm room. Enjoy!



Yes I know about the wires. I'm currently working on that.

Alex

edit: why isn't this thread a sticky?! it was on page two
What wires?
A.I.R (ART IS RESISTANCE)
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 19, 2007, 11:52 PM
 


thought Id share my setup...

- 17" 2.16 MBP
-Wired Might Mouse and pro keyboard
- 3g iPod 40 gb
- Griffin Powermate (my new toy!!)
- LaCie 160 gb d2
- LaCie 80 gb
- Mackie HUI
- Treo 650
- Maudio Radium 61 midi controller

Im thinking of adding a dell 30" and another LaCie to this in the near future
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: eating kernel
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 05:58 PM
 
My new setup:







hosted by kick52.com cuz photobuket crapped itself
Signature depreciated.
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 06:16 PM
 
get rid of those wires kid!
nice set up, and at least you have an overhead light now.

Alex
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Seattle, Washington
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 06:26 PM
 
Holy crap CATs you're rich!
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 06:42 PM
 
Originally Posted by ballison View Post

wow, does that 17"er look small in that picture!
Apple Powerbook 17" 1,67 GHz, 2 gig RAM, 100 gig HDD, ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 128MB, Superdrive 8X
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 07:20 PM
 
Here's my mac setup

     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: eating kernel
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 07:35 PM
 
Originally Posted by Ruf993Turbo View Post
Here's my mac setup

awesome
Signature depreciated.
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 08:12 PM
 
Originally Posted by ballison View Post

thought Id share my setup...

- 17" 2.16 MBP
-Wired Might Mouse and pro keyboard
- 3g iPod 40 gb
- Griffin Powermate (my new toy!!)
- LaCie 160 gb d2
- LaCie 80 gb
- Mackie HUI
- Treo 650
- Maudio Radium 61 midi controller

Im thinking of adding a dell 30" and another LaCie to this in the near future
How do you get to the (music) keyboard without knocking half the stuff over?
- MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 2.3Ghz / 256SSD (Work laptop)
- iMac 3.2Ghz 1TB
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 11:04 PM
 
Originally Posted by Ruf993Turbo View Post
Here's my mac setup

nice
what brand keyboard is that?
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 11:31 PM
 
Originally Posted by driven View Post
How do you get to the (music) keyboard without knocking half the stuff over?
I usually just use the last three octaves and just transpose on the keyboard when needed. I dont use it too much, so it works out quite nicely
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2007, 11:43 PM
 
thanks guys. it's the kensington slimtype keyboard for macs.
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 21, 2007, 04:21 AM
 

Here's a pic of my apple macbook pro, with mister crabs. Yes, I know my motorola phone sucks. It will be replaced by an iPhone.



Here's the macbook pro with my dell 24" LCD, which has an input for the mac, and an input for the dell 9100.



Three LCD monitors on an old fileserver, bill the cat, philips TV, dell SC1420 server, macbook pro, dell inspiron 8500i. UPS under the desk.



Dell Xeon SC1420 server (FreeBSD), and a Dell Dimension 9100 Desktop (Vista Enterprise) w/ a BFGTech 7950GTX. Shares the 24" LCD.


What, doesn't everybody have a cluster of 1U machines in their closet?!? All P4 2.4GHz running FreeBSD.
( Last edited by mergemedia; Jan 21, 2007 at 07:11 AM. )
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 21, 2007, 11:23 AM
 
Hey MergeMedia, nice rack!

How much does that puppy drive up your electric bill? (Just curious)
- MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 2.3Ghz / 256SSD (Work laptop)
- iMac 3.2Ghz 1TB
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 21, 2007, 05:42 PM
 
My power bills are around $200 a month, heh.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 22, 2007, 02:18 AM
 
Originally Posted by Ruf993Turbo View Post
thanks guys. it's the kensington slimtype keyboard for macs.
Does it have any multimedia keys? That's the one thing that always bothers me about Logitech and Microsoft: the stupid multimedia keys don't work on Macs. It's not like it'd be hard Yours looks really nice though.
 Certified AppleCare Technician
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 22, 2007, 09:46 PM
 
yes, it does have some multimedia keys on it. here's an image of it in black, you can see the keys on top:

     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2007, 04:13 AM
 
Originally Posted by stefanicotine View Post
Does it have any multimedia keys? That's the one thing that always bothers me about Logitech and Microsoft: the stupid multimedia keys don't work on Macs. It's not like it'd be hard Yours looks really nice though.
Neither here nor there as far as this thread goes, but this Logitech keyboard works (and looks) great, with iTunes/volume controls, some app launching buttons, etc. The mouse is starting to kinda go screwy on me though after about a year of use.

17" Macbook Pro [ 2.93 GHz | 4 GB Ram | 10.5.6 ]
iPod Nano (first gen) [ Black | 2 GB ]
     
Sub
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2007, 01:41 PM
 
::
( Last edited by Sub; May 18, 2007 at 07:51 PM. )
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2007, 01:48 PM
 
Awesome thread

i am such a big mac fan, it's fun to just browse through pictures, get my popcorn, like watching a Good movie. Great thread! =)
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2007, 07:01 PM
 
This is sweet. You must have a very understanding wife/girlfriend
24" iMac Core 2 Duo 2.33GHz 500GB HD 2GB RAM
15" G4 PowerBook 1.5GHz 1GB RAM
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2007, 09:14 PM
 
Love it





( Last edited by Javizun; Jan 24, 2007 at 01:44 AM. )
A.I.R (ART IS RESISTANCE)
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2007, 09:44 PM
 
Originally Posted by Javizun View Post
Love it




is that ipod dock plugged in anywhere?
1.5 GHZ Powerbook G4 | 1.25GB RAM | Dell 2007WFP 20" Monitor | 500GB MyBook Premium | 60GB Black iPod Video
     
 
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2014 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2