Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Developer Center > Personal site's guestbook hacked, "BY iSKORPiTX; SORY ADMIN OWNZ YOUR SISTEM" Help?!

Personal site's guestbook hacked, "BY iSKORPiTX; SORY ADMIN OWNZ YOUR SISTEM" Help?!
Thread Tools
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2005, 02:44 PM
 
Hey,

I have a small personal website hosted by a small hosting company. My guestbook (which I believe I created using PHP or some script-something, I really have no clue about that kind of stuff) has recently been hacked.

It doesn't appear that my site has been hacked, just the code of the guestbook...? You can view the site at www.joshuareid.net, and the guestbook at www.joshuareid.net/guestbook

The hackers put a message "BY iSKORPiTX; SORY ADMIN OWNZ YOUR SISTEM (NO WAR)" that then forwards to some hacker homepage in another language. Upon googling that full phrase, it seems that similar hacks only are affecting people's guestbooks.

My questions-Any way I can fix this? When I went into the Easy Admin mode of the guestbook, there was no way to delete whatever code or entry they made. Do I need to change my passwords for the entire site, could other info have been compromised? I appreciate all the help, it's a bit scary to have this happen.

Thanks!

EDIT: Scroll to end of thread, THIS HAS BEEN FIXED. Thanks!
(Last edited by Josh Reid; Jan 26, 2005 at 04:56 PM. )
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CO
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2005, 03:00 PM
 
sounds like a warning that your "small hosting company" is using a vulnerable setup (of PHP or whatever). You might want to be alerting *them*.
TOMBSTONE: "He's trashed his last preferences"
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2005, 04:00 PM
 
Go into easy admin and delete the last post in your guestbook. Looks like some joker has just made use of the HTML feature to place that hovering over your page.
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2005, 04:08 PM
 
Thanks for the reply, PG. Unfortunately, when I go into Easy Admin mode in my Guestbook, I am not able to delete their entry. I figured it would be simple like that, but when I access the guestbook even as an Admin, the hacked message still displays, and then forwards to their hacking website. I also disabled HTML code, disabled AGCodes, smileys, basically everything possible to disable, I did.

Thanks,
Josh
(Last edited by Josh Reid; Jan 26, 2005 at 04:15 PM. )
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marietta, GA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2005, 04:46 PM
 
I don't see a problem. Did you get it fixed?
Scott Genevish
scott AT genevish DOT org
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2005, 04:55 PM
 
Wow, yea, it is fixed. I posted in a thread on proxy2.de, a forum for scripting and other things like it...and apparently someone was able to fix it for me by changing some code because the version of script I was using had a vulnerability. Still not sure exactly how it was fixed, but I'm thankful that it was!

-Josh
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2