Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Need some help deciphering mail headers

Need some help deciphering mail headers
Thread Tools
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 21, 2003, 06:11 PM
 
Hi, I've started receiving mail from someone that appears to be at a company, but the headers seem to show a mindspring cable address.

Could someone please help me see the trail for this, I'm not too good at figuring the headers out.

From bill.wibker@jpkhouston.com Fri Nov 21 12:42:26 2003
Return-Path: <bill.wibker@jpkhouston.com>
Received: from grebe.mail.pas.earthlink.net (grebe.mail.pas.earthlink.net [207.217.120.46])
by xcapital.dsvr.co.uk (8.11.7/8.11.7) with ESMTP id hALIf3t02611
for <justin@jkath.com>; Fri, 21 Nov 2003 18:41:03 GMT
Delivered-To: <justin@jkath.com>
Received: from user-0cet4qt.cable.mindspring.com ([24.238.147.93] helo=8ftn931bwibker)
by grebe.mail.pas.earthlink.net with esmtp (Exim 3.33 #1)
id 1ANG9Q-0002vs-00; Fri, 21 Nov 2003 10:37:04 -0800
Reply-To: <bill.wibker@jpkhouston.com>
From: "Bill Wibker" <bill.wibker@jpkhouston.com>
To: "'Bill Wibker'" <bill.wibker@jpkhouston.com>
Subject: Big Bend National Park - December 4-7, 2003 - RSVP Today!
Date: Fri, 21 Nov 2003 12:36:57 -0600
Organization: J P Kenny, Inc.
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/related;
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0045_01C3B02C.2B5B5000"
X-Mailer: Microsoft Office Outlook, Build 11.0.5510
Thread-Index: AcOwXnFU/d/lWkMJR4C2KAFZFqt18g==
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1165
Message-Id: <E1ANG9Q-0002vs-00@grebe.mail.pas.earthlink.net>
Status:

Although jpkhouston.com is registered, it doesn't seem to be active. JP Kenny is a drilling company here in houston and use the domain jpkenny.com

Can anyone shed some light on this.

Thanks,

J.
By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out - Richard Dawkins
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 21, 2003, 08:19 PM
 
do an IP whois on the originating IP and it will tell you on whose network it came from. You can contact the network admin directly or use a free service like spamcop. You can use samspade.org for the whois.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2