 |
 |
Mac mail, Spam, and Spyware
|
 |
|
 |
|
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Status:
Offline
|
|
I searched this and didn't find anything else here. If this has been answered in a previous thread, just post me a link to it.
I use Mail app, along with .mac for my email. I use the junk-mail filter, and that gets 90% of the spam coming my way. Here's the problem; about a week ago I started getting spam mail that somehow says it came from my email, even though it clearly has someone else's name. Since it says it came from my email address, the junk filter does not take it out, and puts it in my inbox.
Why is this happening now? Is it possible (however unlikely) that I have picked up some Mac spyware that is either broadcasting my email address, or I am being used as a relay for spam? I know this is common on PC, but I've never heard of (or experienced) anything like this on Apple.
Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Why do you care?
Status:
Offline
|
|
I have the same problem. Seems the spammers have gotten "smart" and put YOUR (or my) email address as the sender to get around the junk mail filter. Not much you can do that I know of. 
|
|
27" 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 iMac
13" Late-2010 MacBookAir
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Mark any mail you receive from your email address as spam and it disappears.
You can do this in a custom filter or just mark one you receive as junk.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: New York, NY
Status:
Offline
|
|
but no, it doesn't mean your computer is being used as a relay, or that it has any spyware on it - it just means, as the previous poster stated, that spammers are getting smarter.
|
|
cpac
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CO
Status:
Offline
|
|
Yes, I just started receiving this variety too, sometimes with a .pif attachment, sometimes BS like (stealing web site name off my web site, I guess):
Dear user of LoveCalmQuiet.com gateway e-mail server,
Some of our clients complained about the spam (negative e-mail content)
outgoing from your e-mail account. Probably, you have been infected by
a proxy-relay trojan server. In order to keep your computer safe,
follow the instructions.
Please, read the attach for further details.
In order to read the attach you have to use the following password: 40124.
Kind regards,
The LoveCalmQuiet.com team http://www.LoveCalmQuiet.com
|
|
TOMBSTONE: "He's trashed his last preferences"
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Retired.
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally posted by Love Calm Quiet:
Yes, I just started receiving this variety too, sometimes with a .pif attachment, sometimes BS like (stealing web site name off my web site, I guess):
Dear user of LoveCalmQuiet.com gateway e-mail server,
Some of our clients complained about the spam (negative e-mail content)
outgoing from your e-mail account. Probably, you have been infected by
a proxy-relay trojan server. In order to keep your computer safe,
follow the instructions.
Please, read the attach for further details.
In order to read the attach you have to use the following password: 40124.
Kind regards,
The LoveCalmQuiet.com team http://www.LoveCalmQuiet.com
Check the headers of that email. It is possible to find out where it's coming from. Somebody who has your email address in their address book has been infected by a virus. Which in turn is sending out these messages.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Moderator 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally posted by jfelbab:
Mark any mail you receive from your email address as spam and it disappears.
You can do this in a custom filter or just mark one you receive as junk.
Hi, there. Apprarently, you are new here and have not read MacNN's signature guidelines which can be found here: http://forums.macnn.com/showthread.p...readid=186473. Please be aware that your signature does not meet these guidelines and must be "fixed" soon. The reason is for our dial-up users to access each page in a timely manner. Thanks.
-mindwaves
|
|
{{{ mindwaves }}}
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CO
Status:
Offline
|
|
MASTRAP: I *thought* that might be the case, but the individual from whom headers *said* it originated protested they were protected and recently virus-scanned ( three such things were alleged to be from that particular sender).
Then I also got some emails in last month where headers *say* they are from one of our company's folks:
From staff@lovecalmquiet.com Fri Mar 5 05:41:53 2004
Return-Path: <LoveCalm@mac.com>
Delivered-To: office@3
Received: (qmail 9391 invoked from network); 5 Mar 2004 05:47:21 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO hpxh136) (67.165.242.183)
by koka.phpwebhosting.com with SMTP; 5 Mar 2004 05:47:21 -0000
Date: Thu, 04 Mar 2004 22:45:50 -0700
To: office@lovecalmquiet.com
Subject: Warning about your e-mail account.
From: staff@ lovecalmquiet.com
Dear user of "lovecalmquiet.com" mailing system,
Our antivirus software has detected a large ammount of viruses outgoing
from your email account, you may use our free anti-virus tool to clean up
your computer software.
For further details see the attach.
Kind regards,
The lovecalmquiet.com team http://www.lovecalmquiet.com
?
[ This one came with an attached file: "MoreInfo.pif (12.0 KB)" - whatever a ".pif" is ]
[ The emails where headers admitted being from the other source had a file *label in the email* as "TextFile (12.1 KB)" but actually showing in the header to be TextDocument.zip ]
Seems like these are two different infections?¿?
I've only got Macs running - so someone canNOT have be sucking out of MY address book (maybe just getting site name from web site?)
Can spammers actually fake the appearance to me of *coming from myself* like that (I don't have a mail acct of "staff")?
|
|
TOMBSTONE: "He's trashed his last preferences"
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Moderator Emeritus 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: College Park, MD
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally posted by Love Calm Quiet:
Can spammers actually fake the appearance to me of *coming from myself* like that (I don't have a mail acct of "staff")?
Easily. It's being used to get around spam filters too, because usually you accept all mail from your domain.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
|