 |
 |
Google Thinks Safari is a virus
|
 |
|
 |
|
Senior User
Join Date: Jul 2004
Status:
Offline
|
|
ok. this is weirdest thing.
I typed in the Google search thing "phpbb" and hit return. i was going to go download it since i had a really old version of it.
oddly google came saying
Originally Posted by Google
We're sorry...
... but we can't process your request right now. A computer virus or spyware application is sending us automated requests, and it appears that your computer or network has been infected.
We'll restore your access as quickly as possible, so try again soon. In the meantime, you might want to run a virus checker or spyware remover to make sure that your computer is free of viruses and other spurious software.
We apologize for the inconvenience, and hope we'll see you again on Google.
Another mac user has tested this for me and the same thing happens to him. hes on tiger and im on Panther.
Anybody got to comment on Google either not liking the word phpbb or it not liking safari to type that in.
i havn't tried on other browsers so im not sure if its just safari or not.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: case.edu
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
|
pb 1440x960 | 1.67, 1.5, 128, 80 | leopard
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: case.edu
Status:
Offline
|
|
Update: It's broken in all three of the browsers I use: Camino, Firefox, and Safari. But only for the word 'phpbb', and not after submitting the query to the google.com search field.
I wonder if there is a virus floating around that is querying Google with 'phpbb' (and maybe some other strings) so they decided to block those queries unless they came from the 'official' search box?
|
pb 1440x960 | 1.67, 1.5, 128, 80 | leopard
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: case.edu
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
|
pb 1440x960 | 1.67, 1.5, 128, 80 | leopard
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Status:
Offline
|
|
I also got that Google message when I clicked a link for a Google video. It seems they're a little bit proactive with some virus prevention or something.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |