Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Trojans ... MacUpdate, VersionTracker, etc...

Trojans ... MacUpdate, VersionTracker, etc...
Thread Tools
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2006, 10:45 AM
 
Hi,

Just curious. Do sites like MacUpdate and VersionTracker scan the downloads for trojans, viruses, etc...? I realize their not hosting the files, but do they hold their uploaders liable? Do they cheeck any of the files themselves?

Just curious if you can rely on them as a safe download site.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2006, 02:40 AM
 
That's something that would interest me as well.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: If I tellz ya, then I gotsta killz ya !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2006, 03:07 AM
 
Surely they do, but I have been getting apps from versiontracker for over 8 years and have never had ANY problems whatsoever.......
Signatures are ugly. Bitchy women are ugly......YOU do the math :)
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2006, 06:32 AM
 
I haven't had any problems with them over the years either.

It might be nice if the posted something on their site concering this.
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: FFM
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2006, 06:48 AM
 
Those websites are not liable for the software they link to. And they can't possibly check it all. Even if they could, the software maker could change it any time after it has been posted.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2006, 10:20 AM
 
I'm sure that if someone reported to them that a software they linked to was a virus, they'd delete it. Beyond that, though, I don't know if they screen things before putting them on or not.

The thing is, I think that Info-Mac used to scan incoming files for viruses when they posted them. Of course, one day someone uploaded that "Graphic Converter" virus, which hadn't yet been encountered by the Mac community and subsequently wasn't in any of the virus definition files, so it got through anyway. So the moral is, you can't really ever trust anything 100% just because it came from a popular download site. You should be careful about all software unless you trust the author that the software actually comes from.

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2