 |
 |
Legit?
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status:
Offline
|
|
I get flooded with spam from a handful of places, including vendors selling software for very cheap. I have to imagine that these places are not legit. Has anyone heard of This? I assume they are not legit?
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newport News, VA USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Considering they don't know how to spell "Retail", probably not.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status:
Offline
|
|
I know. I noticed other mistakes, too. It's remarkable that someone could set up and entire website selling software illegitimately. It can't be too difficult for Adobe and Microsoft to find these sites?
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver
Status:
Offline
|
|
It's not hard at all to find these people. A WHOIS search reveals the domain's registered to Alex Rodrigez, using a PO Box in Pirae Tahiti. The IP space used to host the site belongs to an ISP in Perm, Russia.
The hard part is doing something about it.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status:
Offline
|
|
I find their emails incredibly intrusive. Any hints on how to stop the spam?
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by surferboy
I find their emails incredibly intrusive. Any hints on how to stop the spam?
As mentioned, the hard part is stopping them. I suggest a Google search for suggestions on how to prevent and/or stop spam.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vanilla Sands
Status:
Offline
|
|
What I would suggest is contacting their Registrar, which is PacNames.com If they are spamming, their Registrar should put the hammer down on them. They are based out of New Zealand and no 800 number, so I would go to their website, send them an email and report the spam.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status:
Offline
|
|
Done. I'll let you know if I get a response.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by Ranger14
What I would suggest is contacting their Registrar, which is PacNames.com If they are spamming, their Registrar should put the hammer down on them. They are based out of New Zealand and no 800 number, so I would go to their website, send them an email and report the spam.
The domain registrar can't do much about the spamming. It's not their domain. Once you have the rights to a domain, taking it away, even for spamming, is not something that a registrar is going to take lightly. You have the rights to your domain from the time you register it, until the time you let the registration lapse, or sell the domain to someone else. The ISP should be contacted. Killing their hosting account is something that an ISP/host will do in a heartbeat (most reputable ones, anyway), if there is verifiable spamming going on.
|
Dennis R. Metzcher
MyMacBlog.com: My experiences with the Mac OS, a switcher's point of view. With a new Mac tip each week day.
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vanilla Sands
Status:
Offline
|
|
Hmmm, I work for a domain registrar and if someone complains about one of our domains spamming and we find it to be the case we can shut it down. Not all registrars will do that though, especially if they aren't in the U.S. as spam laws are not universal. In the U.S. the registrar has to shut them down if they are shown to be spamming. Part of the agreement one signs for registering a domain name is that you will not use the account to spam. Not much of an issue to shut them down based on that alone. It is part of the anti-spamming regulations in the U.S. You do not have the right to keep your domain if you are abusing it by spamming or by conducting illegal activities on that domain.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status:
Offline
|
|
This is all very interesting. I set up a deal with my email accounts that require an emailer to confirm their addresss. I don't use those emails frequently, so it's not a great inconvenience to anyone- it has already stopped a lot of the spam.
The most frequent crap I get are solications for things like Cialis and Levitra, etc. and for discounted software. It's mind-boggling how frequently and consistently these emails are sent out.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vanilla Sands
Status:
Offline
|
|
Most spammers set up domain names and keep doing it until they get caught. Go on to the next domain name and registry and do it again. There are also countries that still have no regulations against spamming, so they will set up domain names through those countries. It's a tough racket to stop.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
|