Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Is www.nbc.com hacked?

Is www.nbc.com hacked?
Thread Tools
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: retired
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2004, 07:25 PM
 
Everytime I log onto their site I get this...

pic

http://www.nbc.com

Using Safari with pop-ups blocked and also using Pith Helmet.

Started yesterday.

???
     
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2004, 07:28 PM
 
Working fine with Firefox/XP...
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2004, 07:28 PM
 
No, that's the way it is supposed to be.

It is a "pop-in" ad - it hovers on top of the page's content. Because it isn't a new window or a traditional banner, but rather a virtual layer, Safari's pop-up stopper and PithHelmet won't stop it.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2004, 07:30 PM
 
You have to close the advertisement window by clicking the X in the upper right corner.
     
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: retired
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2004, 07:36 PM
 
I'm amazed nbc would have such a thing.

What next?
     
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2004, 07:41 PM
 
Originally posted by AKcrab:
Working fine with Firefox/XP...
I guess 'Addblock' is stopping it for me?
     
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Metamora, OH
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2004, 09:45 PM
 
It doesn't show up at all in OmniWeb.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2004, 09:58 PM
 
Those are the worst kind of ad. Horrible for the site that hosts them although they probably bring in a lot of ad revenue.
     
Senior User
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2004, 04:34 AM
 
Originally posted by Atomic Rooster:
Everytime I log onto their site I get this...

pic
What happened to that guy's right hand?

Edit: Oh, I just got it. It's supposed to look like crap. Great ad, it made me think that the person who made it was lame at web design. Imagine that.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2004, 07:17 PM
 
Originally posted by drive-thru:
What happened to that guy's right hand?

Edit: Oh, I just got it. It's supposed to look like crap. Great ad, it made me think that the person who made it was lame at web design. Imagine that.
Unfortunately I know people that would design something like that and think it actually looks good.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Vancouver
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2004, 09:01 PM
 
No sign of it showing up in Camino either...

Doesn't even register as a pop-up that was blocked...
Macbook (Black) C2D/250GB/3GB | G5/1.6 250GBx2/2.0GB
Free Mobile Ringtone & Games Uploader | Flickr | Twitter
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2004, 04:49 PM
 
Originally posted by AKcrab:
Working fine with Firefox/XP...
ditto
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2