Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Suspicious e-mail from service@paypal.com

Suspicious e-mail from service@paypal.com
Thread Tools
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hamburg
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 09:39 AM
 
Should I trust this?
I recieved this e-mail in my spam-box from service@paypal.com today:


Dear PayPal user,
Your account has been flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures. This is a must to ensure that only you have access and use of your paypal account and to ensure a safe PayPal experience. We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us. To verify your information, please click here.

Thank you for using PayPal!



I am really not sure if this isn't a try from someone else to get information about my paypal account especially if I look at the link they gave me... (and it doesn't work if I click on it here at work)
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Herzliya
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 09:42 AM
 
It's fake.
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Outfield - #24
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 09:44 AM
 
I got (3) of these yesterday about different issues supposedly with my PayPal account...it's fun to copy and paste the link from the e-mail into a browser to see the scammer at work; ironically, I also received a "real" PayPal e-mail yesterday...
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appalachia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 09:48 AM
 
It's a scam, forward it to Paypal's fraud dept.

Retired
     
badidea  (op)
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hamburg
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 09:55 AM
 
I thought so....
Thanks!


and next time I think I just should read more carefully:
"...This is a must to ensure that only you have access and use of your paypal account..."
Suuuure!
(Last edited by badidea; Oct 28, 2004 at 10:02 AM. )
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 10:02 AM
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by badidea:
[B]Should I trust this?
us. To verify your information, please click http://83.148.74.180/www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/
Thank you for using PayPal![/i]

Look at the link. Does 83.148.74.180 look legit to you? You can put whatever you want after the IP and it doesn't mean squat. All it means is that there's a directory on the scammer's server named www.paypal.com

Also watch out for http://www.paypal.com@83.148.74.180/ ...

See the @? That means whatever comes before it is a username - it can be anything. The part after the @ is the address.

Any unsolicited email that asks you click on something should be treated as a scam.

Also, turn off autoloading of images on your email - addresses are verified because the images load from their server.
     
badidea  (op)
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hamburg
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 10:17 AM
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by hayesk:
[B]
Originally posted by badidea:
Should I trust this?
us. To verify your information, please click http://83.148.74.180/www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/
Thank you for using PayPal![/i]

Look at the link. Does 83.148.74.180 look legit to you? You can put whatever you want after the IP and it doesn't mean squat. All it means is that there's a directory on the scammer's server named www.paypal.com

Also watch out for http://www.paypal.com@83.148.74.180/ ...

See the @? That means whatever comes before it is a username - it can be anything. The part after the @ is the address.

Any unsolicited email that asks you click on something should be treated as a scam.

Also, turn off autoloading of images on your email - addresses are verified because the images load from their server.
Actually I know everything you just told me.....don't really know though why I still had to post and ask someone else here...
(it's cold outside and the brain is on power-save mode probably)
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2