Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > A+M photo world (Now with oversized pic!)

A+M photo world (Now with oversized pic!)
Thread Tools
Senior User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2005, 11:37 AM
 
Has anyone here purchased from them? I am looking for a Nikon D-70 and they offer the body at an amazing price. $489 to be exact. see it here:

http://www.amphotoworld.com/product....key=AODOBCAEEH


No where on the page does it say the thing is used, refurbished or the international version. So of course I emailed them to ask if the unit was any of these, because if it is I dont want it.

Anyway.... just wondering if anyone has dealt with them.
Thanks,

-j
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: I don't know anymore!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2005, 12:09 PM
 
If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck......

Suspicions.

1. Nowhere on their site could I find an address for their company. I don't deal with people I can't find.

2. Price protection, from their support page; Due to price fluctuation on some products we can not always offer price protection on already shipped products.

3. That price is undoubtedly below the dealer's actual cost.

4. Something is very fishy here.
Why is there always money for war, but none for education?
     
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Night's Plutonian shore...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2005, 12:36 PM
 
I've seen their ads in ePhotography magazine, and I was a little leery of them just because of the prices they advertise. They seem to good to be true. Their ad does list an address; I'll find it when I get home from work. You could always check with the better business bureau and see if there are complaints against them.
Nemo me impune lacesset
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2005, 12:41 PM
 
The only way I'd agree to it is if they allowed me to pay when I pick up. I'd also make sure that it has a US Warranty, not an International Warranty.

Have you tried to call them?
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2005, 12:46 PM
 
I did a search on google for AM Photo World Forums and got this link:


http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1988.html

http://www.dcresource.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107

http://www.photo.net/neighbor/one-subcategory?id=2


Buyer be warned. Check the comments made by these people.
     
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Night's Plutonian shore...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2005, 01:19 PM
 
Here's the corporate headquarters of A+M Photo world. No, that's not a joke. The address is 2920 Avenue L. If you feel safe buying electronics from this shithole, have at it son, but I would caution you against it.

Nemo me impune lacesset
     
jersey  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2005, 02:16 PM
 
alright.....gonna stay the hell away from that place.

yeah..... i figured it was way too good to be true.

I didnt know they were a part of Broadway photo and all of their b.s.

Thanks all.

-j

edit: in reading all the comments about this place......it's kind of funny.
(Last edited by jersey; Feb 5, 2005 at 02:21 PM. )
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2005, 10:31 PM
 
I shop from B&H Photo. http://www.bhphotovideo.com
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alabama
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2005, 10:43 PM
 
Originally posted by ThinkInsane:
Here's the corporate headquarters of A+M Photo world. No, that's not a joke. The address is 2920 Avenue L. If you feel safe buying electronics from this shithole, have at it son, but I would caution you against it.

lol
the words corporate headquarters and that picture dont mix.
http://www.mafia-designs.com
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2