 |
 |
Do you have $20,000?
|
 |
|
 |
|
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Michigan, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alabama
Status:
Offline
|
|
i don't know how to verify the authenticity of the guitar. but it definitely is the same guitar eddie played. but no i don't have 20,000 and if i did i would not buy this.
probably a mod the guy did and had it signed by evh.
|
|
http://www.mafia-designs.com
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Michigan, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
I seriously doubt EVH would sign a replica guitar. I suppose if I had 20 grand I didn't know what to do with, I'd probably consider it. After all, EVH is arguably one of the best guitarists to walk the earth.
But yeah, how could the authenticity be verified?
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In the South
Status:
Offline
|
|
Doubt it. If you were scamming it- wouldn't you try to get less for it?
Does that make sense?
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alabama
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally posted by KeriVit:
Doubt it. If you were scamming it- wouldn't you try to get less for it?
Does that make sense?
ya a little. and why wouldn't he sign a replica guitar. obviously the guy was a big enough fan to make it. if he was signing autographs i see no reason why he'd decline a guitar to sign.
|
|
http://www.mafia-designs.com
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Michigan, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally posted by Mafia:
ya a little. and why wouldn't he sign a replica guitar. obviously the guy was a big enough fan to make it. if he was signing autographs i see no reason why he'd decline a guitar to sign.
If I were EVH I wouldn't sign a replica for the reason that the guy might try to pass it off as one of my own guitars in an auction.
I agree though, $20,000 is calling attention to yourself. A scammer would probably let it go as a regular auction, or maybe a buy it now price of say $2,000.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Urbandale, IA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Apple should buy it and release a Jam Pack based on the samples they get from it. That'd be huge.
(Assuming it's legit.)
|
|
"Yields a falsehood when preceded by its quotation" yields a falsehood when preceded by its quotation.
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Outfield - #24
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status:
Offline
|
|
This guitar was made for Edward Van Halen in Jan od 84 by Paul Unker from Kramer. There were three of them made.
It could be the real thing - it definitely looks like there were three Kramer Frankensteins built with the banana headstock and mini scratch-plate.
There's three of 'em here, but it does mention that Ed built one himself (leaving two on the page to be factory built).
Still, I'd be questioning why it's got the different headstock. Easy to avoid lawsuits by putting a different headstock on something.

|
|
If it doesn't scare hippies, it's not worth listening to
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Caffeinated Theme Master 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: hell (says dakar)
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally posted by KeriVit:
Doubt it. If you were scamming it- wouldn't you try to get less for it? Does that make sense?
Nope. The bolder the lie, the smaller the risk of getting caught. Generally holds true in all aspects of life. Sales, politics, etc. ...

|
|
...
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2006
Status:
Offline
|
|
Yikes!!!! I'm a tad late here.... lol. Anyway, I am the guy that was "selling" this guitar on Ebay. I say "selling" because I never really intended on selling it through Ebay, but wanted to get the right attention. I eventually did. Although I do not own the guitar anymore, you can view it here Rock Stars Guitars The personn I sold it to is now selling it himself. Not sure if any fo you guys care or not, but I thought I'd give you an update since there were so many questions concerning it's validity. Thanks!
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status:
Offline
|
|
WTF ? Bump a one year old thread for spam ?
-t
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2006
Status:
Offline
|
|
sorry, wasnt trying to spam. the post was talking about me and my old guitar. i thought i would drop by and hopefully shed some light on the topic. dont know how that is spam, but if it is, i apologize.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by EDDIEVRULZ
dont know how that is spam, but if it is, i apologize.
People are sensitive to first posters and new members posting links to external sites. You know, boosting traffic paid advertisment ?
-t
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2006
Status:
Offline
|
|
ok, i see your point. i only posted the link so people could see the history of the guitar. ive already sold it, so i am gaining nothing from pointing out it's current sale. basically, i wanted everyone to know that i wasn't scamming anyone and the guitar is what i said it was. i meant no offense to anyone here.  but, if it makes anyone feel better, im glad i found this forum. im getting ready to ditch all of my windows based pc's and getting my first mac. this look like the perfect place to learn.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Don't take it too hard. We do get a lot of spam here, so old thread resurrected + guy with one post + link to external site makes some folks suspicious.
So if you don't mind me asking, did you wind up getting the $20K for it?
|
|
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2006
Status:
Offline
|
|
i came out ok. almost 20. its going for a ton now though.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
|