If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above.
You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
I received the following today. The "From" line (and common sense) leads me to believe it's BS, but I figured I'd put it out here for some other ideas/feedback.
From: drueschhoff@stteresasacademy.org
Subject: Delivery reports about your e-mail
Date: February 18, 2005 8:22:14 AM MST
To: not_my_real_address@mac.com
Dear user not_my_real_address, Mail server administrator of mac.com would like to let you know the following.
We have detected that your e-mail account was used to send a large amount of unsolicited commercial email messages during this week.
Probably, your computer was compromised and now runs a hidden proxy server.
Please follow the instruction in order to keep your computer safe.
Have a nice day,
The mac.com team.
And it came with a 25.5 KB .zip file, which of course I didn't open. Anyone seen this?
i got the same thing a few months back & posted it on .Mac discussions. Aparrantly it's failry standard spam stuff from an infected PC somewhere. Just delete it, or click the links or do what you like, doesn't matter, nothing to worrry about.