Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Spammed from MacNN?

Spammed from MacNN?
Thread Tools
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 9, 2005, 05:13 PM
 
Do we have address farmers on MacNN?
Email I received to my MacNN public email address:

SUBJECT: I saw you post on a computer related forum...

Hi Fellow Computer user,

Darwin here. I used to read and post to forums regarding any concerns on
my computer (software and hardware related issues), and usually after a
series of search, I have found suggestions to resolve my concerns from
other computer users like me (most of the time, from computer techies). I
really thank my fellow forum-posters for they have shared and imparted
their knowledge on me.

Just this week, I been reading forums again and found out that you have
posted from one of those forums -seeking answers to your computer concerns
and/or sharing your experiences on others who are having concerns that you
had before.

SHARING IS GOOD! I am very grateful to it. But, here in computer forums,
we just shared ideas but we are not compensated by it mostly.

What if I can tell you that you can "have your computer-related concerns
without having to search or wait answers from forums or having to wait for
a technician to physically check your machine, and earn money while it is
done," would it be worth less than 10 minutes to get the details?

If you think it's worth it, simply follow the easy steps below, and I will
give you access to the details:

1.) Send an Email to weng@zakiko.com
2.) Type "IT'S WORTH" on the subject line.
3.) You may include your Name and your Country of Origin on the Message
Body.

But, if you feel that it's just a waste of time, simply follow the removal
instructions on at the end of this email.

Best Regards,
Darwin J.
Computer Technician
Independent Associate Member
This dude sounds like a good bloke, but should I take the deal?
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 9, 2005, 05:17 PM
 
The i dog which is sufficient does not understand the original of the message which you receive. Writes like he is not visible inside Great Britain where he is good quite. This s night of this me decisive in the r with the thing me, it will talk, theyn the place.

Regarding a synopsis, me that you must create the prosecuting attorney of the enterprise it thinks.

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 10, 2005, 09:49 AM
 
I would be skeptical.

"Never give in, never give in, never, never, never, never - in nothing, great or small, large or petty - never give in except to convictions of honor and good sense." Winston Churchill
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northwest Ohio
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 10, 2005, 11:22 AM
 
Originally posted by wdlove:
I would be skeptical.
I'm more interested in knowing how the spammer got his MacNN address...
     
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 10, 2005, 02:25 PM
 
First, it's a scam, pure and simple. There's nothing good that could come from it.

Second, if you post an email address anywhere online, somebody will eventually be able to fish it up. I don't use my real address for anything involving posting on forums for that reason. Disposable addresses are much better for that sort of thing.

I would consider this email address compromised and not use it for anything critical.
Glenn -----
OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
storer  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 10, 2005, 04:28 PM
 
Originally posted by ghporter:
First, it's a scam, pure and simple. There's nothing good that could come from it.
I would consider this email address compromised and not use it for anything critical.
Are you sure? I was almost certain that it was real. Damn, what a disappointment, but thank you for enlightening me.

Its a hotmail address anyway.
     
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 10, 2005, 04:42 PM
 
The email you got looks like it's got problems; for example poor language use: "series of search" -- "without having to search or wait answers" -- more there to search for. I believe this is because it's from an not-primarily-english source. Further examination of their site shows not much else. It seems to be mainly under construction.

Whois search shows that the site is registered to someone in Cebu, Phillipines who's email is a Yahoo! address.

If this is really legit, he should have given you more information. It wouldn't hurt to ask about it-particularly what they're interested in from you, and what's in it for you.
Glenn -----
OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
storer  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 10, 2005, 04:53 PM
 
Originally posted by ghporter:
If this is really legit, he should have given you more information. It wouldn't hurt to ask about it-particularly what they're interested in from you, and what's in it for you.
Man, I was just kidding. We really need that sarcasm smiley!
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 10, 2005, 04:54 PM
 
I think he's kidding, given all the smileys in his original post.

edit: beaten to the draw!

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 10, 2005, 05:51 PM
 
Well your post got me curious, that's all. One idea led to another and...I get wordy sometimes, don't I?

I had HOPED that nobody would take that sort of thing seriously, but I've seen some posts (here and elsewhere) that led me to believe that P.T. Barnum was right, and they congregate in technology areas. "A free computer for telling Bill Gates how many times the deposed Nigerian finance minister has asked me to buy Viagra for him online? SURE!" It's scary.

I am curious how your email address got scooped up, but as I said, that's kind of out there and thus available to those who dig deep.
Glenn -----
OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2