 |
 |
Some Jerk is Spoofing Our E-mail Domain
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Status:
Offline
|
|
Somebody has been sending out spam e-mail from our domain using non-existent usernames with our domain name. Are there any ways (short of adding something expensive like SenderID) to counter this? It's very irritating and could turn into something more damaging.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
It depends on what you mean by "counter this." As you probably know, it's impossible to stop somebody from saying an e-mail comes from any address they like, fictional or not. Otherwise Paypal would have done it a long time ago.
|
|
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Baninated
Join Date: Jan 2005
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by selowitch
Somebody has been sending out spam e-mail from our domain using non-existent usernames with our domain name. Are there any ways (short of adding something expensive like SenderID) to counter this? It's very irritating and could turn into something more damaging.
welcome to life? seriously this has been happening to me for years randomly. it happens to everyone as far as i know.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Status:
Offline
|
|
Well, what would you do? They're sending stuff out that appears to be from us and it includes attachments that could contain viruses. Can I identify the perps and have them thrown in jail where they belong?
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by meelk
welcome to life? seriously this has been happening to me for years randomly. it happens to everyone as far as i know.
Well, the difference in this case is that I know about it, because the spurious messages keep coming back to me. If I wasn't so aware of it, it would probably bother me less.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southern, NJ (near Philly YO!)
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by selowitch
Somebody has been sending out spam e-mail from our domain using non-existent usernames with our domain name. Are there any ways (short of adding something expensive like SenderID) to counter this? It's very irritating and could turn into something more damaging.
I have my own domain and mail server in my closet and I clicked allow server to be used as relay....before I knew it I had almost 1000 spam e-mails sent from my domain using different users and my domain. Needless to say my domain was put on a blacklist as a spammer which I shouldnt be on. How do you serve your e-mail? Is it configured by the webhost or you? I would contact the host immediately and tell them the issue. Most likely your on a blacklist which I found out is almost impossible to get off. Well my SMTP server domain is blacklisted. Not good 
|
|
MacBook Pro 15" i7 ~ Snow Leopard ~ iPhone 4 - 16Gb
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Status:
Offline
|
|
It's a webhost domain that also offers e-mail (pointinspace.com). I've already e-mailed by sysadmin.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Admin Emeritus 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by stevesnj
I have my own domain and mail server in my closet and I clicked allow server to be used as relay....before I knew it I had almost 1000 spam e-mails sent from my domain using different users and my domain. Needless to say my domain was put on a blacklist as a spammer which I shouldnt be on. How do you serve your e-mail? Is it configured by the webhost or you? I would contact the host immediately and tell them the issue. Most likely your on a blacklist which I found out is almost impossible to get off. Well my SMTP server domain is blacklisted. Not good
Well no offense, but you deserved to be blacklisted, because it's exactly this type of casual attitude towards relaying that helped spam catch on to begin with.
tooki
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Administrator 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by selowitch
It's a webhost domain that also offers e-mail (pointinspace.com). I've already e-mailed by sysadmin.
That's about the best thing you can do. Most of the time, you find out that it's somebody spoofing a real user and you get a huge number of bounced "unknown user" or "mailbox over quota" messages because the spammer doesn't care how many misses he gets, as long as he gets some hits.
|
|
Glenn -----
OTR/L, MOT, Tx
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: yes
Status:
Offline
|
|
Chances are a mindless script is generating the email messages, and not a person. Anymore, it's virtually impossible to track down the source of spam, unless you are willing to devote a lot of time to it.
I think that a lot of spam would be cut down if mail relays required authentication. It also makes for easier portability, and convenience when you take your laptop off of your ISP's LAN.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Status:
Offline
|
|
Sender-ID is no good - use SPF instead - it's free and open and unencumbered by patents.
It's not guaranteed to prevent spoofing - but SMTP servers that do use it will not pass on spoofed mail.
If you have control of your DNS add an SPF record to your DNS records.
If you don't have control of your DNS - email your host and ask them if they'll support SPF or add the record.
http://spf.pobox.com/
http://spf.pobox.com/wizard.html
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: yes
Status:
Offline
|
|
Greylisting is also a *very* effective anti-spam technique. I use Postgrey on my server.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by selowitch
Can I identify the perps and have them thrown in jail where they belong?
Sure, just fill out the form and that's it. Never ever you will be spammed or your domain name abused again.
www.throwthatfarkinspammerinjail.com/form
-t
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by turtle777
It says server down 
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by Scifience
It says server down
Hope you are kiddin'
It was A JOKE ! Duh !
-t
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by turtle777
Hope you are kiddin'
It was A JOKE ! Duh !
-t
Yes, I most certainly was kidding.
I administer a few dozen servers on multiple DS-3s, so I know a thing or two about this stuff. 
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by Scifience
Yes, I most certainly was kidding. 
I administer a few dozen servers on multiple DS-3s, so I know a thing or two about this stuff.
Good for you
-t
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Baninated
Join Date: Jan 2005
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by selowitch
Well, the difference in this case is that I know about it, because the spurious messages keep coming back to me. If I wasn't so aware of it, it would probably bother me less.
how do you think I know about it? I get return email as well. get over it.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southern, NJ (near Philly YO!)
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by tooki
Well no offense, but you deserved to be blacklisted, because it's exactly this type of casual attitude towards relaying that helped spam catch on to begin with.
tooki
It was an accident...I never would intentionally relay my server....and yes i am offended...jk 
|
|
MacBook Pro 15" i7 ~ Snow Leopard ~ iPhone 4 - 16Gb
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
|