Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > My .mac email hit by Amazon "phish". Anyone else

My .mac email hit by Amazon "phish". Anyone else
Thread Tools
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CO
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2005, 08:54 AM
 
Whoa! I just got phished for the first time - at my .mac email - and they almost had me.

I got an HTML email that appeared just like usual Amazon communications, and was supposed from "Amazon.com Payments<payments-messages@amazon.com>" .

In the body of the email was a hot link which was *named*:
https://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/f...in-secure.html

To my old folks, that would appear to be a secure (https) link to Amazon. And when I clicked on the link I was taken to a site that *appeared* at first glance to be Amazon - both from the perfectly replicated Amazon sign-on page (with my .mac email in the right box).

The only thing strange was that Safari did not autofill in •••••••• to show that it would automatically send my password. That alerted me to look more closely at the address bar. Only then did I see that someone had established a domain name made to look (at quick glance) as though it went to Amazon:

http://secure.amazon.com.exec-login-...sucker@mac.com

Has anyone else gotten a phish like this? Doesn't this look like a good way to steal someone's email/password combo at a large online retailer? I worry about my folks, who would NEVER have noticed that this was a phish - and could have had their account at Amazon (or whatever online retailer) totally hijacked by this phish?

Any thoughts? Any victims?
TOMBSTONE: "He's trashed his last preferences"
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CO
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2005, 09:00 AM
 
PS:
So I tried to report this activity to Amazon. They DO have a phishing report form. The *types* of phishing attempts that they offer as examples are no where nearly as well disguised (e.g., they have FROM addresses like "Amazon.com@hotmail.com"

Unfortunately (for them) when I tried to send them a form with the details of this phish I got (repeatedly):

"We're sorry, but we are unable to process your contact at this time. We're investigating the cause of this problem now and hope to have it resolved shortly.
In the meantime, you can view and update your account and order information in Your Account. If you still need assistance from Customer Service after checking these resources, please try to submit your contact later."

(Maybe their canning plant is overloaded with phish this morning?)
TOMBSTONE: "He's trashed his last preferences"
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Left Coast
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2005, 03:40 PM
 
Yeah, my sister got something like this. She's pretty naive, so I'm surprised that she didn't go ahead and type in her password once she got to the pseudo-amazon page.

It's a real issue of social-engineering making for vulnerability. It does make me wonder about the danger of using email addresses as the user-name on an account - given how Outlook address books like to spread all of our email addresses around. :/
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2005, 04:45 PM
 
They've done stuff like this for some time now. The best thing to do is, even if you think an e-mail is legitimate, to go straight to Amazon.com manually in your browser rather than following the link.

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2