 |
 |
What the hell is this? iTunes scam?
|
 |
|
 |
|
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Status:
Offline
|
|
Browsing the Software threads, I saw a Google-ad that said:
Version 7.4 - Get it Now
The Latest Version. Just 99¢ a Song Fast Download - 100% Guaranteed.
And I was like
This didn't sound like something Apple would have said, so I checked the link and came to this site:
iTunes - Downloads straight to your iPod
My first thoughts was this: "What kind of scam is this? Just regular e-mail harvesting? You need to "sign up" to receive instructions on how to download iTunes. I mean... WTF?"
Then I went to their FAQ, which had this lovely gem:
Do you have anything for Mac?
Because Mac computers are used somewhat less, there's a smaller variety of programs. However, we've located some of the best programs available for your use!
But the plot thickens:
I thought the software was free. Why am I being asked to pay?
The software is completely free of charge. What you pay goes towards supporting our technical team and paying for the creation of more user guides. If you're unsatisfied, you can always cancel your membership and keep the software.
.
Yes. Apparently they are charging you for them to send you an automated e-mail with a link to download iTunes. What the...???
This completely baffled me. I thought I had seen every kind of internet scam by now. Anyone else have more information on this?
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Status:
Offline
|
|
I tried their signup process and this is what I got:
3 year Unlimited VIP Membership for only $49.95 - $11.65/year
2 Years Full & Unlimited Access for only $16.44/year
1 Year Unlimited Access for $29.88
Supercharge my Internet connection with our award winning Download
Accelerator for only $14.95 and download up to 300% faster!
So not only are they signing you up for a recurring paid membership, but also harvesting your e-mail for their other hairbrained schemes. 
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The back of the room
Status:
Offline
|
|
Whois probably does.
I'm sure lots of people fall for it, too.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Moderator 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status:
Online
|
|
I'd tell Apple about this. If their lawyers jumped on that guy for posting the jokey "Congrats, late adopters" AdWords link to the Apple Store, they're bound to eat these folks for lunch.
|
|
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto
Status:
Offline
|
|
Post the google ad link. Get everybody to click it 50 times. Bankrupt the ****ers.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 888500128
Status:
Offline
|
|
Heh.
This Software may be obtained freely. New computer users should find our services valuable, and a time saver.
If you are an advanced computer user, you probably don't need our services.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by Chuckit
I'd tell Apple about this. If their lawyers jumped on that guy for posting the jokey "Congrats, late adopters" AdWords link to the Apple Store, they're bound to eat these folks for lunch.
Sent the link to sjobs@apple.com yesterday. No reply yet, but at least they should be aware of it.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status:
Offline
|
|
Man, don't you all know that sjobs@apple.com goes to dev/null ?
I mean, look at how much crap he gets from MacNN alone...
-t
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: FFM
Status:
Offline
|
|
One of those is probably appropriate for such a case: Apple - Legal
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by turtle777
Completely untrue. However, he (and whoever secretary filters his mail) may be swamped from the whole iPhone price cut business at the moment
I have however forwarded it to Apple Legal as well.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 888500128
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally Posted by turtle777
Nope. There's a staff of people sifting through it and forwarding it accordingly.
I can attest to that. 
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
|