Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Advice for grad school?

Advice for grad school?
Posting Junkie
Sep 14, 2007, 10:58 AM

So I graduated from college with a BA in Computer Science in 2004. I'm now seriously considering/planning on applying to grad school for the '08-'09 academic year. The only problem is that the field I want to go into is in no way related to anything in my academic background at all. I want to go into archaeology (ok, they're somewhat related if you're talking about GIS, but that's not really what I want to focus on). So I'm thinking I'll apply to some MA programs (we just bought a condo, so that pretty much limits me to Brandeis University, Boston University, and the University of Massachusetts Boston; Tufts also has an archaeology graduate program but only classical archaeology which isn't what I'm interested in). Once I've got my MA I'll be in a better position to decide where I want to go from there, but I'm seriously interested in MIT's HASTS program.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone here has any advice on the best way to proceed. Mostly I'm worried about the fact that my undergrad studies didn't really prepare me at all for this field of study. I'm confident that I could do the work and willing to play catchup if necessary at first, but I don't know how big of an issue that will be for admissions departments. I know we've got a few members who are/were in grad school in various fields, so hopefully someone can give me a few pointers. Maybe I should try taking some undergrad courses at one of the (many) schools around here?

Sep 14, 2007, 11:02 AM