 |
 |
thecamerapros.com is a scam
|
 |
|
 |
|
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2007
Status:
Offline
|
|
I was recently scammed by this company and in my internet search to see if I was alone I found some posts in the nnforums archive. Since I couldn't post there I figured I'd 'pile on' here so others don't make the same mistake.
I ordered from them about a month ago because they had the cheapest deal on a camcorder I wanted. I normally order from Buy.com, J&R, ecost or newegg. I should have stayed with these retailers. Here's my recent letter to the BBB.
This company is a complete and total scam. I found that they had the camcorder I wanted at the lowest price on the net ($459). I purchased it via their website and then got an email asking that I call in for verification. No problem...I can do that. While on the call, I'm asked if I want to purchase a battery and battery charger. No, not an extra battery or battery charger...just a battery and battery charger. WTF!!! No where on the website did it say that these weren't included in the purchase. Who purchases a camera without the battery and charger....what a scam. The guy on the phone tells me it will be $65 for the battery and battery charger. I agreed because I don't want to deal with the hassle of finding another vendor. This should make the total cost of the camera about $530 (it had free shipping). They process the order but never tell me a total or send me a receipt via email. Then 3 days later I check on my credit card and they've charged me $772.72!!! HOLY SHIZZLE!!! They had charged me almost $350 to get a battery (not a special one just the default) and battery charger for a camera that should have come with them right out of the box at no extra charge. When I call to report what I thought was a mistake they tell me that I was charged for the 'upgrade package' they sent me. Since when did the battery and charger necessary to make an electronic product work become an upgrade? And since when does it cost over $300 for these products. Making the thing even more strange is that they actually offer upgrade packages online that include all sorts of extras (battery, tripod, case, UV lens, etc) for MUCH less than what they charged me to just get a battery and charger. The customer service rep I spoke with didn't even see how illogical and nonsensical this was. I'm returning the product today and will be doing a credit card chargeback for the 10% restocking fee they said they will be charging me.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status:
Offline
|
|
You wrote a letter to the BBB that contained the words holy shizzle? You trippin. 
|

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status:
Offline
|
|
Well, definitely dispute the 10% chargeback on your credit card.
The CC companies are usually very lenient about this, especially if the vendor seems to scam people.
-t
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Your Anus
Status:
Offline
|
|
I would have cancelled as soon as they said I had to order the battery separately. There are a lot of very shady electronics places out there. I've had a few run ins with them in the past (not to the point of money exchanging hands though), and I'm weary enough now that I only go to the known places.
|

My sig is 1 pixel too big.
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: :ИOITAↃO⅃
Status:
Offline
|
|
Isn't this spam? Anti-corporation spam, maybe even public-service-announcement spam, but still spam?
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far above Cayuga's waters.
Status:
Offline
|
|
is this that company in brooklyn that sells the camera for the cheapest prices on froogle and then calls you to pitch you on buying the battery and the charger and cables and junk?
this has been around for a while now, you'd think the BBB would have taken them out by now.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2003
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
|