 |
 |
Is this legal?
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The decaying ruins of Old New York
Status:
Offline
|
|
So I was looking for a high-res copy of my employer's logo to use on a website, since our marketing department's site is currently unavailable. In my perusal of Google Images, I found a site that appears to be selling copyrighted logos - including Apple's:
http://www.pycomall.com/product.php?...251&page=2
This cannot possibly be legal, right? I doubt that text saying "follow the owner's copyright rules to use this logo" is enough to permit profiting off of selling the EPS and AI formats of copyrighted logos...
(Last edited by shifuimam; Jan 13, 2009 at 04:38 PM.
)
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
(Last edited by waxcrash; Jan 13, 2009 at 01:55 PM.
)
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Moderator 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: We come from the land of the ice and snow...
Status:
Offline
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Moderator 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: This is not my beautiful house
Status:
Online
|
|
While illegal, logotypes.ru has actually saved my butt a couple of times when I needed a logo for a project and the best the client's marketing department could do was a low-rez jpeg from their website.
As an aside...Your company really should have such things as logo art saved to an internal company-wide server. Keeping such things exclusively on an (apparently) external website isn't a good idea (obviously.) I understand the need to make collateral like logos available on the web (in press kits and whatnot) so you can certainly keep copies of such items available on the website, but just make sure there is a central master storehouse accessible to all departments.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The decaying ruins of Old New York
Status:
Offline
|
|
I actually found this site while searching for logos other than Apple - specifically, a public university. Unis will sometimes provide freely available high-quality downloads of their logos for use on material (with proper permissions, of course). I doubt that the owners of those logos know they're out there.
I also saw that this particular site has a ton of NFL logos, which I know is illegal, given that the NFL charges a hell of lot just to use team logos on merchandise.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
|