Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Music and video piracy might bring about good changes.

Music and video piracy might bring about good changes.
Jul 18, 2009, 01:51 PM

Piracy means performers will only get paid for actually doing something. Preforming.
Piracy means you actually have to contribute to society in order to make money.
Why should one guy live high on the hog for doing one song when your family doc spends most of his life keeping your kids healthy?
Music and Video piracy = rethinking values = don’t do anything. don’t get paid.

I work in a factory. I get paid for what I do every day. But I have to do something to get paid. I don’t show up for work for a few days and then get paid the rest of my life for it.

There might be two greatest contributions to the human race the internet brings about.
One
information to all.
Two
Experiencing life is worth more than paying someone for a recording. Fantasy has no real value.
I've often wondered if there is relativity between the eleven dimensions in the universe and the eleven secret herbs and spices in Kentucky Fried Chicken.

Professional Poster
Jul 18, 2009, 02:32 PM

What about songwriters? Suppose I can't sing to save my life but I can write the best lyrics or music ever heard. So a performer hears my song, gets to go on tour performing my song and makes lots of money while I get nothing. Is that fair? Why would I write the song in the first place then?

How does this help authors? I write a great book, so do I now have to go on tour and read it aloud to get paid? How many people want to go to a theatre and pay to hear someone read them a book?