 |
 |
Wierd Web Page
|
 |
|
 |
|
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status:
Offline
|
|
Here I am surfing along when I follow a link to a supposed discount camping equipment site and low and behold I get a page with PHP 4.1.1 header I scroll down to find my IP address listed in a field called remote server, further down I can see a www address to some sex site. Having my IP address listed kind of freaked me out. I checked Norton and no attempts to access my system have been logged, but its still kind of wierd. The little I know of PHP is that it is a web developer language like html. I am now wondering if someone is bouncing porn off my system
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status:
Offline
|
|
This is nothing to be concerned about if it is similar to this page on my site: http://www.scifience.net/phpinfo.php . Every website you go to can access your IP address, and the address for the sex site is just the address of the server that the phpinfo page is being hosted on. Most sites simply do not tell the user that this info is being collected.
For example, MacNN Forums knows your IP and can ban your IP if you do something wrong. Again, nothing to be concerned about.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Utah, USA
Status:
Offline
|
|
Originally posted by Scifience:
This is nothing to be concerned about if it is similar to this page on my site: http://www.scifience.net/phpinfo.php . Every website you go to can access your IP address, and the address for the sex site is just the address of the server that the phpinfo page is being hosted on. Most sites simply do not tell the user that this info is being collected.
For example, MacNN Forums knows your IP and can ban your IP if you do something wrong. Again, nothing to be concerned about.
DITTO!
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status:
Offline
|
|
If you have protection on your mac then I guess you don't have to worry about it.
spelt - WEIRD not wierd.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status:
Offline
|
|
Thanks for the replies. The page was identical to the one linked. Goes to show how far a little paranoia goes. I had images of kiddie porn or something being bounced off my system. Thanks again for the help.
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|

|
|
 |
Forum Rules
|
 |
 |
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
|
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |