Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac OS X > kazaa for the mac

kazaa for the mac
Thread Tools
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Jun 3, 2003, 03:45 PM
 
does anyone know if kazaa for the mac can be obtained. i have come across a couple of sites charging 14.95 for a password and software i guess. just wondering if this is legit or if it can be obtained free?

thanks
     
exa
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2000
Status: Offline
Jun 3, 2003, 03:54 PM
 
There is no kazaa for the mac, what you've found are scams. The closest you can do is to get Neo, which is a kazaa shadow client (doesn't connect to kazaa servers but uses brute force to find kazaa hosts). Or virtual pc + kazaa.

Other options are to use Gnutella (via limewire or acquisition), Direct Connect (my favorite), eDonkey (via MLDonkey), GiftBoX.

Never liked kazaa personally (eg download something called x and you get y, annoying as hell).
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Status: Offline
Jun 3, 2003, 04:12 PM
 
Um, there are several large threads about this in the Software forum right now.
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Jun 3, 2003, 09:30 PM
 
actually there is something better than kazaa, it runs kazaa, and about 10 other networks, but its a lot of work to get it running if u dont know unix, its called mldonkey, dont even bother with the other crap
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Between Sydney and Melbourne
Status: Offline
Jun 3, 2003, 10:59 PM
 
Originally posted by acd2:
does anyone know if kazaa for the mac can be obtained. i have come across a couple of sites charging 14.95 for a password and software i guess. just wondering if this is legit or if it can be obtained free?

thanks
Yes Kazza.com and MP3university.com are scams.

You pay 23USD and they give you a copy of limewire, - seriously.

Steer clear.
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Winnipeg
Status: Offline
Jun 4, 2003, 12:23 AM
 
In before the lock, I love the idea of people ripping off those who are trying to find an inexpencive way to rip off others.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2