Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac OS X > Adware? what is adware?

Adware? what is adware?
Thread Tools
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: France
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 1, 2006, 03:46 PM
 
Hm,never saw it before, heard about it but thought it wouldn't hurt me, as "I'm on a Mac".
Opening www.appleinsider.com tonight, and after loading the page, it goes to
www.systemdoctor.com

Is this adware, does it happen to you as well, what is it, waht should I do?

Thanks.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 1, 2006, 04:53 PM
 
Adware is:
a) pc software that subsidized profits by placing banner-type ads directly into the application.
b) any software package which automatically plays, displays, or downloads advertising material to a computer after the software is installed on it or while the application is being used.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The decaying ruins of Old New York
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 1, 2006, 05:11 PM
 
Adware could also be defined as software that hijacks other software to display ads.

Appleman what browser are you using? Have you downloaded any new free software recently? Accidentally visited any sites you didn't mean to (not necessarily porn; a lot of gaming sites have stuff on them)?

Also, are you sure you typed www.Appleinsider.com? If you misspelled the URL, switched letters around, etc, it's very likely you would have been redirected to an ad site. Ad companies frequently purchase URLs similar to popular sites in order to fill those URLs with ads. Even MacNN is victim - mcnn.com and www.mcann.com both direct to ad sites.
For all the trash I talk, I sure own a lot of Macs...
Clamshell iBook Mod Community
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Binghamton, New York, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 11, 2007, 02:41 AM
 
I ran into this issue too, but in a slightly different way, I used a bookmark that I'd used many times before to go to a website. At first I thought Firefox had crashed because the window closed and a dialog opened. After reading it I realized it was an ad. there was no way to close the window so I clicked cancel. Of course that took me to systemdoctor's website. closing that window opened another, so I finally had to quit Firefox, should I be worried about my Mac? Below is a screen shot of to the dialog box:


2.3Ghz 17" SandyBridge MBP 8GB RAM 7.2k 750GB HD anti-glare display|Dell 2408WFP|64GB iPad2 ATT 3G
     
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: on the verge of insanity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 11, 2007, 03:05 AM
 
No, that is a Windows only program it was trying to install.
I like my water with hops, malt, hops, yeast, and hops.
     
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 11, 2007, 03:31 AM
 
Originally Posted by davidflas View Post
I ran into this issue too, but in a slightly different way, I used a bookmark that I'd used many times before to go to a website. At first I thought Firefox had crashed because the window closed and a dialog opened. After reading it I realized it was an ad. there was no way to close the window so I clicked cancel. Of course that took me to systemdoctor's website. closing that window opened another, so I finally had to quit Firefox, should I be worried about my Mac?
No, that looks like a standard annoying JavaScript-enabled ad on whatever Web site you were visiting.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 11, 2007, 07:58 AM
 
Chuckit is right, it is a Java script ad. If you didn't deliberately go to a site that suddenly appears, then it is some type of malware. Many times it is best to dismiss the pop up with a keyboard command. Some pop ups are designed to take you to their site even if you click on the Cancel button.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2011 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.7 © 2000-2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2